Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2011, 10:36 AM
anotherchrisperry anotherchrisperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 19
Default 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

Since updating to 2.6.1 (10.6.8, pro tools 9.0.3) I've noticed two crippling issues:

1. Touch screen on MC Control (Euph version) often becomes unresponsive. Power cycling unit fixes problem.

2. Rotary encoders "jump" values on both Control and MC MIX when using with dynamics and EQ. All encoders do this, with UAD SSL and Waves SSL (probably others, but these are my go to for mixing)

The value jumps make it almost impossible to use the encoders with confidence.

Anyone else have these problems?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:46 AM
evs evs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 246
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

hi,
i have the same behavior with eucon 2.6.2 an pt 10.01 with a brand new control (bought yesterday..)
the ecoders "jump", but its not that bad that they are not usable, but not nice either.. and its just with eq and dynamics..

anyone has a solution for it?

all the best

Last edited by evs; 03-10-2012 at 08:54 AM. Reason: i wrote eucon 2.6.1, that was wrong, i have 2.6.2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2012, 07:48 AM
jesse p jesse p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 120
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

Try 2.6.2
__________________
www.kdsound.net
Sound for film and Television
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-10-2012, 08:53 AM
evs evs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 246
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

sorry, my fault, i´m using 2.6.2 allready.
is this a known bug?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-10-2012, 10:47 AM
likenedthus likenedthus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orlando
Posts: 5
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

I believe there are several people with this issue, and from what I've seen so far, none, or almost none, have been acknowledged. I'm having problems with connectivity, myself. I've tried every routing/ip configuration possible, with no luck. In fact, I think the longest my Artist Control unit has stayed connected to Logic is around 5 minutes, which isn't all bad considering it doesn't control some software at all anymore (RME Totalmix, for example). I've since put the unit back in its box.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-10-2012, 12:23 PM
evs evs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 246
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

this is really bad..
interestingly i had the same bug when using the novation "nocturn" with automap... so maybe its more like a software bug?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:13 PM
noeqplease noeqplease is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA, Planet Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy
Posts: 156
Thumbs down Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

Eucontrol 2.6.2
Pro Tools HD 10.0.1
Mac Pro Xeon Dual Quad Core 2.8 GHz (8 cores)
6GB RAM
Mac OS 10.6.8

I get the touchscreen freeze after about 15-20 minutes of the unit being on.
Restarting it does not cure the problem.
Rebooting the computer solves it sometimes, but the issue comes back.

Also, I have tow MIX surfaces, in which on both units, sometimes fader no.5 stops sending fader touch commands.

I cleaned all three units really well, and still see the behavior.

WTH Is going on?
__________________
Nick Sevilla
nick@nicksevilla.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2012, 11:46 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 553
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by noeqplease View Post
Eucontrol 2.6.2
Pro Tools HD 10.0.1
Mac Pro Xeon Dual Quad Core 2.8 GHz (8 cores)
6GB RAM
Mac OS 10.6.8

I get the touchscreen freeze after about 15-20 minutes of the unit being on.
Restarting it does not cure the problem.
Rebooting the computer solves it sometimes, but the issue comes back.

Also, I have tow MIX surfaces, in which on both units, sometimes fader no.5 stops sending fader touch commands.

I cleaned all three units really well, and still see the behavior.

WTH Is going on?
No need to restart the whole computer, restarting Eucon would fix it.. For me, this happens sometimes when I use the assignable knob feature (the screen freezes).. I haven't taken the time yet to re-create a reproducible situation for support
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-12-2012, 10:18 AM
evs evs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 246
Default Re: 2.6.1 Rotary Encoder Issues, and MC Control Touch Screen Freeze

i just discoverfed that when i´m using the digidesign EQ3 plug in that the encoders are NOT jumping. everything works as expected.
dmg and wave plug ins seem to jump. i don´t have tried others.

anyone experienced the same?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-13-2012, 02:10 AM
crustn crustn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Default

@evs: can confirm. The avid plug-ins work much smoother with the encoders than third party plug-ins. It's certainly a software problem! Try recording plug-in automation with the encoders and look at the automation lane.......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MC Control touch screen misreads coords of press Pasz Artist Series 15 12-15-2013 08:07 AM
Artist Control V1 Touch Screen Xill Artist Series 3 08-19-2011 01:52 PM
Touch to select on MC mix, does control touch screen follow? Led Artist Series 0 03-24-2011 05:36 AM
Getting parts for control 24? need rotary encoder pots replacing! crizdee ICON & C|24 2 08-28-2008 04:47 PM
Touch Screen Control Surface? joy4u Tips & Tricks 2 11-30-2001 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com