Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 12 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-14-2017, 04:28 AM
Glo123 Glo123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 15
Default Re: Can Pro Tools Do Automtion Curves?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KV626 View Post
Well it's MIDI so you'll end up with steps anyway... You might not hear them but that doesn't mean they're not there.

What's important is what you actually hear. When I draw a (MIDI) line in Logic, I don't see steps, and I don't hear steps. When I draw a line in Pro Tools, I do see (sometimes tiny) steps, but I don't hear steps. Same result. Doesn't make any difference to me to be honest - in fact sometimes it's may even be a cool reminder that you're looking at MIDI information, not audio...
Fair enough. That being said, is there a way to reduce the size of these steps? Just to help tighten things up?

Also, if I were to use something like a PreSonus FaderPort to control and draw in automation?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-14-2017, 04:36 AM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Can Pro Tools Do Automtion Curves?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glo123 View Post
Fair enough. That being said, is there a way to reduce the size of these steps? Just to help tighten things up?
That was answered in post #2 (the grid thing)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glo123 View Post
Also, if I were to use something like a PreSonus FaderPort to control and draw in automation?
You can use a faderport of course but you don't need any to draw automation on Pro Tools, just enable the parameter (Ctrl-Alt-Win-Click on the control you want to automate), set the mode on the track from read to write or latch and move the control to write the automation as the session plays:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Olk_PvyJiGo
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com

Last edited by amagras; 09-15-2017 at 07:43 AM. Reason: +link
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-14-2017, 04:49 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 13,092
Default Re: Can Pro Tools Do Automtion Curves?

With regards to the steps deal keep in mind that MIDI pitch bend is a 14 bit number with values from 0 (zero) to 16383. A MIDI monitor program will show it as +/- 8192 with -8192 being max pitch down and +8192 being max pitch up. This is different from the regular MIDI message which have values from 0 (zero) to 127. They both have steps but the pitch bend control message is finer than say a cc7 (volume) message.

Granted the MIDI implementation in PT is a bit of a problem and it doesn't look like it will ever get fixed. That's why a lot of people that do a lot of work in MIDI use another daw for that purpose (for instance I'll use Digital Performer for extensive MIDI work).
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Waves VEQ-4 filter curves? Benny_Cha_Cha AAX Plug-ins 4 02-19-2014 07:42 AM
Missing Write Automtion function... ukoomrann Pro Tools Software (Mac) 2 10-07-2012 06:33 AM
Learning Curves, Updates, and Pro Tools 9 tcstx Pro Tools 9 Discussion 1 02-22-2011 03:35 AM
editing volume curves cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-08-2008 10:18 PM
film eq curves, dvd eq curves ashish Post - Surround - Video 3 02-02-2004 06:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com