Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2006, 02:21 PM
Hollow Body Hollow Body is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default spdif to optical converter and using opt and spdif

Hi. I have a twofold question.

First: Can you use both optical spdif in and rca spdif in at the same time on the digi002 rack? And, can you use 88.2 and 96k sample rates with the optical spdif in? (you cant with optical adat right?)

Second:

If you use a spdif to optical converter, like this one:

http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/a...rters.html#co2

Are you losing any digital audio quality in the conversion?

The reason I'm asking this is because I have an Apogee Mini Me that I love that's going rca spdif into my digi 002 rack. I'd love to get another but the mini me doesnt have an optical spdif out, so I was thinking of getting the converter so I could use both.

Any thoughts on this?

Thanks!

-Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2006, 03:41 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: spdif to optical converter and using opt and s

Quote:
First: Can you use both optical spdif in and rca spdif in at the same time on the digi002 rack?
Nope. Covered on page 27 of the Getting Started Guide
Quote:
You can use only one pair of S/PDIF inputs
(either RCA or Optical) at a time.


Quote:
And, can you use 88.2 and 96k sample rates with the optical spdif in? (you cant with optical adat right?)
Correct. Optical S/PDIF = up to 96k, optical ADAT = up to 48k

I think that nulls out the second part of your question about the converter, though.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:24 PM
Hollow Body Hollow Body is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: spdif to optical converter and using opt and spdif

so basically that means that you can only have one digital source (2 tracks) (like a preamp with digital outs) that goes above 48khz right? No other way to get more than 2 digital ins with greater than 48khz with Digi 002?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2006, 06:41 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: spdif to optical converter and using opt and s

Quote:
so basically that means that you can only have one digital source (2 tracks) (like a preamp with digital outs) that goes above 48khz right?
Correct.
Quote:
No other way to get more than 2 digital ins with greater than 48khz with Digi 002?
Also correct.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProFire 2626: SPDIF COAX & SPDIF OPTICAL Simultaneous success!!! WHAAAA HAPPENED??? cueball73 macOS 0 05-22-2012 01:41 PM
Digi 96io - can you mix Optical SPDIF and phono SPDIF? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-24-2009 12:20 PM
Echo Mia W/ SPDIF also does RCA style SPDIF cause the same crashes as optical?? Paul_m 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-16-2003 06:41 AM
Outboard Converter to ADAT Optical or SPDIF? Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-23-2002 12:26 PM
Is there a converter for optical to SPDIF? LaJaZ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-11-2000 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com