Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2020, 09:08 PM
luism luism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago USA
Posts: 44
Default any recommendations?

I am installing pro tools 12 fresh on a 2019 Imac. I also got 2 SSD's.

Someone said that it's recommended to save your work on an external and also install your plugins in an external..

Is this true?

Any newbie guides for recommended fresh settings? AM using Mojave
__________________
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Imac 27
OS 10.7.3
12GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2020, 09:17 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,610
Default Re: any recommendations?

Pro Tools 12 is not supported on Mojave.

You always need to check compatibility carefully. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

You should also check OS and Pro Tools compatibility with all third party plugins and audio interface device drivers.

If your iMac has a large enough internal SSD you can install everything there, all old advice about separate drives no longer applies with these super fast PCIE/NVMe SSDs... in fact it's often *much* better now to max out the size of that internal SSD drive and deliberately put everything there there, especially compared to slow old SATA HDD or SATA SSD drives.

You need to read up on the Pro Tools systems optimization instructions and do them. Google...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2020, 09:20 PM
luism luism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago USA
Posts: 44
Default Re: any recommendations?

Thanks !
__________________
Pro Tools 10.0.1
Imac 27
OS 10.7.3
12GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2020, 11:18 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,434
Default Re: any recommendations?

What Darryl said plus never try to install any plugin on a different location and let the computer / installer decide where to put them.

You can set a different location for the sound Libraries of your Virtual Instruments though as that free up Internal drive space too but thats it, not the actual plugin software. All the Best of Luck!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2020, 02:48 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,765
Default Re: any recommendations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luism View Post
I am installing pro tools 12 fresh on a 2019 Imac
AVid does not sell support and update plan reinstatements any longer, so be quick to contact your favourite deaer and ask if they still have old stock left. Otherwise you need a new license.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2020, 03:04 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,610
Default Re: any recommendations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
AVid does not sell support and update plan reinstatements any longer, so be quick to contact your favourite deaer and ask if they still have old stock left. Otherwise you need a new license.
If not you can switch to an annual Pro Tools subscription. (and getting upgrades, Avid "support"--for what that is worth, and the complete plugin bundle and a few other plugins (not bad) included).

Or if you don't really need Pro Tools, just give up it, most other DAWS (e.g. Logic Pro X) don't have all these upgrade hassles.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2020, 10:24 AM
sned_uses_pro_tools sned_uses_pro_tools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: any recommendations?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Pro Tools 12 is not supported on Mojave.

You always need to check compatibility carefully. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

You should also check OS and Pro Tools compatibility with all third party plugins and audio interface device drivers.

If your iMac has a large enough internal SSD you can install everything there, all old advice about separate drives no longer applies with these super fast PCIE/NVMe SSDs... in fact it's often *much* better now to max out the size of that internal SSD drive and deliberately put everything there there, especially compared to slow old SATA HDD or SATA SSD drives.

You need to read up on the Pro Tools systems optimization instructions and do them. Google...
Is it possible to run PT 12 on a macbook air w/only 4gb of ram for remote recording? Can I then re-download to mac mini for mixing and mastering?

Thanks - another newbie question
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendations Please IsaacRCCL macOS 5 01-24-2015 11:01 AM
Recommendations please brilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-14-2012 09:46 PM
Recommendations on UPS Jak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 10-14-2005 10:40 PM
CD-R recommendations Richard Conrad Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2005 11:24 PM
any recommendations for FW-hd΄s clusterer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-28-2005 08:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com