Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2020, 09:48 PM
Spindrift300 Spindrift300 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 10
Default HDX: Mixing SSL Deltalink with HD I/O Interfaces

Hi, I have an SSL Deltalink running two RADAR ADA II units for 48ch of I/O. I want to buy an HD I/O Digital 16x16 so I can interface a slew of AES/EBU outboard. Is there any issue with running these two units on two HDX cards in a MacPro or is this asking for trouble?

Would I word clock off of the RADARs into the HD I/O or is the clock coming from the sync of the HDX cards (which are getting their clock from the RADAR)?

What if I decide to throw 8ch of Analog in the empty slots of the HD I/O too? Trouble in river city?

Thanks in advance for the insights.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2020, 10:42 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 937
Default Re: HDX: Mixing SSL Deltalink with HD I/O Interfaces

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spindrift300 View Post
Hi, I have an SSL Deltalink running two RADAR ADA II units for 48ch of I/O. I want to buy an HD I/O Digital 16x16 so I can interface a slew of AES/EBU outboard. Is there any issue with running these two units on two HDX cards in a MacPro or is this asking for trouble?

Would I word clock off of the RADARs into the HD I/O or is the clock coming from the sync of the HDX cards (which are getting their clock from the RADAR)?

What if I decide to throw 8ch of Analog in the empty slots of the HD I/O too? Trouble in river city?

Thanks in advance for the insights.

The latencies may not match so, at the very least, you probably don't want to be doing things in parallel (e.g. compression) mixed across interfaces. The interface provides the clock. If you are using the HD Digital I/O only for AES/EBU inserts then it would make sense to make the RADAR the clock master. It would probably be simpler to get a Pro Tools card for the RADAR but, in the absence of that, a word clock distributor taking the WC out from the RADAR to both the SSL Deltalink and HD I/O will likely be the most robust option. In theory it shouldn't matter which Pro Tools interface is the "master" as far as Pro Tools is concerned. Switching sample rates will be a bit of a pain, but so it is.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing Blue and Black interfaces? Guy McDude Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 09-08-2012 04:52 AM
Mixing digi 003 and m audio interfaces ronald5215 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-21-2011 08:51 AM
mixing HD and Legacy Interfaces leebeefunny2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-23-2004 11:27 AM
Mixing 16bit and 24 bit 888 interfaces StudioStef Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 05-15-2001 06:20 PM
Mixing Interfaces on a 9600 Richard Barrie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-14-1999 08:17 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com