Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-18-2018, 04:38 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

I’ve also used multiple computers to test this. With no edits, things run smoothly...the second I use Beat Detective and have lots of edits over a drum track, totally sluggish feel.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-18-2018, 07:23 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

128g ram doesn't hurt. I use 128.... everything snappy using 2 high end video cards 5 monitors.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-19-2018, 07:41 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

If 128GB of RAM is the requirement, then there won't be an Apple laptop or iMac useable with current versions of Pro Tools for the next 10 years...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2018, 05:13 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 586
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

Protools has been buggy for awhile. You basically need to add $$$ for new machine. Video cards. Ram to get it to work like it used to.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-21-2018, 12:19 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,931
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

Trim Support Yes or No can be viewed in the About this Mac>System Report>Hardware>SATA/SATA Express

Using non Apple SSD's this is supported but not always trim On.

I found using Samsung Pro and EVO products trim support on resulted in noticeable stability for my classic Mac Pro 5,1

I dropped $10 for Disk Sensei software to turn this on.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's U2018.7 MacOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(NVIDIA P4000 3-Displays)
(1080p - 2K/4K - 1080p)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
Nucleus V1 (HUI MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----

Last edited by DetroitT; 08-21-2018 at 07:11 PM. Reason: sp
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-10-2018, 08:20 AM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 332
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

OK, so if you can't find an HD7950 Mac Edition card (and Sieg won't sell me his ), what would one get right now, as a great, solid, stable graphics card for a 5,1 MacPro running High Sierra?


I have a GTX 660 in there right now, and I'm getting the crazy, blocky whacko graphics glitches...


What's the consensus on graphics cards for HS/Mojave?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:23 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 332
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

Ok, so I grabbed a Radeon RX 580 from the local Canada Computers...

Works, but there's weirdo rainbow aliasing on all of the text and certain lines on the screen. Mac OS allegedly supports AMD Graphics out of the box, no drivers required - and there's no MacOS driver on the AMD site.

I'll likely take this card back tomorrow, and switch for something else. I was hoping to avoid nVidia cards, but that might be the only option at this point, no?

I don't really care about having the Mac boot screen, and can certainly wait until the login screen, so I don't need to get it flashed (or buy one already flashed) unless y'all here insist that it's necessary.

Because I'm running an LG Ultrawide 4K screen, and the cable needs to be 25', I'm running Displayport.

Any suggestions for cards that work with Metal2 and are super solid with ProTools?

Last edited by Mixchump; 09-14-2018 at 09:23 PM. Reason: formatting
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-14-2018, 09:49 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 714
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mixchump View Post
Ok, so I grabbed a Radeon RX 580 from the local Canada Computers...

Works, but there's weirdo rainbow aliasing on all of the text and certain lines on the screen. Mac OS allegedly supports AMD Graphics out of the box, no drivers required - and there's no MacOS driver on the AMD site.

I'll likely take this card back tomorrow, and switch for something else. I was hoping to avoid nVidia cards, but that might be the only option at this point, no?

I don't really care about having the Mac boot screen, and can certainly wait until the login screen, so I don't need to get it flashed (or buy one already flashed) unless y'all here insist that it's necessary.

Because I'm running an LG Ultrawide 4K screen, and the cable needs to be 25', I'm running Displayport.

Any suggestions for cards that work with Metal2 and are super solid with ProTools?
Try with a shorter cable and see if the aliasing artefacts go away?
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-20-2018, 12:05 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 110
Default Re: Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siegfried Meier View Post
PCIe SSD drives, other internal SSD drives (makes no difference).

Latest version of Sierra (tried High Sierra too, even more garbage).

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7

What does “trim tuned on” mean?

Thanks,
Sig
I'm running a 2010 Mac Pro 5,1 with upgraded processors, upgraded video card (AMD Radeon HD 7970 - PC version flashed with Mac firmware), SSD boot drive on PCI with High Sierra and 2018.7.

Very quick and very smooth. I'm happy with the performance of this almost 9 year old computer. With the AMD Radeon HD 7970, I should be OK with macOS 10.4 as well.

When I switched from TDM to HDX, things got slow. The biggest boost was upgrading from the original 8 core to 3.46GHz 12 core processors.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7950 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 22GB RAM, MacOS 10.13.3.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: Sierra or High Sierra for PTHD 2018.3? johnnyv Pro Tools 2018 25 03-18-2018 08:30 PM
MAC PRO High Sierra & PTHD 2018 can't recognized PCIe Native card Sutee Sangsareechon Pro Tools 2018 0 02-09-2018 11:49 AM
S6L AVB with OS X High Sierra brinnbacka VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 08-24-2017 02:59 AM
High Sample rates with Native HD card Media Man Pro Tools Software (Win) 6 02-27-2017 11:48 AM
HD Native card physically generates high pitch whine or squeal mlange Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 6 03-15-2012 02:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com