Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2020, 12:41 PM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 428
Default Avid 192 I/O question ???

A friend of mine is running PT9/HD3 with an Avid 192 I/O.

Installed in the 192: Bay-1 is the 8 channel analog Input card; Bay-2 is the 8 channel output card; and Bay-3 is the 8 channel Digital I/O card.

Currently, he has connected 16 channels of mic pres connected to the 8 Channel of Analog IN and 8 channels using the ADAT IN on the Digital I/O card.

My Questions: is it possible to use the OPTICAL ADAT IN via the Enclosure Connector to get another (8) channels of input into Protools? Giving a total 24 inputs simultaneously?

Thanks,
__________________
27" iMac; 32gigRam; OSX Catalina 10.15.2; PT 2019.12.0; Apollo x8p; UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Octo;
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2020, 01:40 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,375
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by teacherman View Post
A friend of mine is running PT9/HD3 with an Avid 192 I/O.

Installed in the 192: Bay-1 is the 8 channel analog Input card; Bay-2 is the 8 channel output card; and Bay-3 is the 8 channel Digital I/O card.

Currently, he has connected 16 channels of mic pres connected to the 8 Channel of Analog IN and 8 channels using the ADAT IN on the Digital I/O card.

My Questions: is it possible to use the OPTICAL ADAT IN via the Enclosure Connector to get another (8) channels of input into Protools? Giving a total 24 inputs simultaneously?

Thanks,
Absolutely not, this is a 16x16 interface defined by the TDM2 bus protocol that Digilink uses. The 192 IO manual does a good job describing how you can use the 192 IO chassis and card digital IO connections. The solution is you buy another 192 IO, they can be found very chealy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2020, 01:57 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

The limitation is in the DigiLink, which carries 16+16 for two daisy-chained interfaces for total of 32+32. You just need to choose which 16+16 you wish to use per interface.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2020, 07:27 AM
teacherman teacherman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 428
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

Okay, thanks for the info.

Though, what is the difference in the OPTICAL ADAT that comes standard on the Enclosure card and the optional ADAT IN on the optional Digital Card?
__________________
27" iMac; 32gigRam; OSX Catalina 10.15.2; PT 2019.12.0; Apollo x8p; UAD-2-Satellite-TB3-Octo;
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2020, 07:30 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

No difference. But with 8ch on enclosure and 8ch on card you can have 16ch total if that is what you are looking for, without need for extra digital card. ADAT is limited to 48kHz on 192 interface, no SMUX
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2020, 09:09 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,375
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by teacherman View Post
Okay, thanks for the info.

Though, what is the difference in the OPTICAL ADAT that comes standard on the Enclosure card and the optional ADAT IN on the optional Digital Card?
All very well described in the 192 IO Manual.... which you need to read. PDFs are a google away.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2020, 09:34 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

^^ what he said.

Bug long story short -- only difference between enclosure and digital card connectors is that enclosure AES is 96kHz 2-channel max and has XLR connectors, compared to 8-channel DSUB 192kHz on digital card.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2020, 12:04 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,192
Default Re: Avid 192 I/O question ???

Some of the info is here and some is incorrect.
There is a difference between the enclosure and the option card optical connectors.
The option card optical port only accepts 48kHz and will SRC to whatever session sample rate you are using. It also only outputs 48kHz. It has realtime sample rate conversion. It is also not switchable to optical SPDIF.

The enclosure optical port has no realtime sample rate conversion. It is also switchable to optical SPDIF (2 channel) instead of ADAT where it can go to 96kHz. However, in ADAT, it is also restricted to 48kHz.

Overall, ADAT on the 192 interfaces is restricted compared to other hardware makers who do >48kHz (DS/QS). I remember back when these were everywhere people thinking they were doing 96kHz just because their session was set that way but transferring via ADAT.

The Avid IO line of interfaces rectified this.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid PRE HPF question Armando Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 07-01-2019 06:20 AM
Avid i o 8*8*8 question musicmixer04 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 06-18-2014 01:29 PM
Avid Standard Support - question for Avid Bo Walker Pro Tools 10 9 12-13-2011 03:08 AM
Avid Pre Question David Correia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-24-2011 09:31 PM
Avid 888/24 question maurisebas General Discussion 3 11-14-2001 12:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com