Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2009, 08:11 PM
notr2d2 notr2d2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jenkintown (Outside of Philadelphia)
Posts: 98
Default Recording is Enabled but when I push play, I can't hear the live guitar

Hey, I have been trying to record on my 001 (LE 5.1.1); when Record is enabled & the rest of the tracks are not playing, I can hear the guitar that I want to record & play live. But when I push play & the rest of the tracks play, I can't hear the live guitar anymore. I also noticed that the guitar track that I want to record over is also still playing as opposed to the live guitar. How do I correct this so I can hear the live guitar that I want to record? Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2009, 08:41 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,206
Default Re: Recording is Enabled but when I push play, I can't hear the live guitar

Switch to input monitor. alt+k
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:59 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 516
Default Re: Recording is Enabled but when I push play, I can't hear the live guitar

well OPTION-K in Mac speak


or INPUT ONLY MONITORING in the TRACK pull down menu
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2009, 04:20 PM
notr2d2 notr2d2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jenkintown (Outside of Philadelphia)
Posts: 98
Default Re: Recording is Enabled but when I push play, I can't hear the live guitar

Thanks, guys. I appreciate it:)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-21-2010, 10:23 AM
notr2d2 notr2d2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jenkintown (Outside of Philadelphia)
Posts: 98
Default Re: Recording is Enabled but when I push play, I can't hear the live guitar

Hey guys,
the Option-K has been working well. Today, I can hear it on record-enabled when I play an instrument but don't see the meter or mixer move (no green movement). It only moves when I record something. What can I do to fix this? Thanks,
David
__________________
https://adornment.bandcamp.com/
https://andotherwonders.bandcamp.com/
http://gcsband.bandcamp.com
Mac Mini (2012)// OS 10.13.6// Eleven Rack// Pro Tools 2020.5.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-21-2010, 11:44 AM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Recording is Enabled but when I push play, I can't hear the live guitar

If I understand correctly, you will only see input when you "record enable" or "arm" the track you want to record. There's no input monitoring on PT LE as far as visual. Yes again of course you set input monitoring to listen as you playback when you "arm" the track but the only way to hear is to "arm" the track.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't hear myself play without recording AdamEdinburgh Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 18 06-07-2020 08:33 PM
Pro Tools plays back both my MIDI devices, but can only hear one device play live thrice506 Pro Tools 10 10 02-10-2014 05:25 PM
dont want to hear guitar amp while recording Sushidude Eleven Rack 9 09-04-2011 01:41 PM
Can't hear live midi when playing or recording mgtube 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 10-30-2009 07:28 PM
Can I play along and hear without recording? (Registration question also) Shane Cullinane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-30-2003 05:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com