Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2007, 11:59 AM
klrss klrss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default Can not hear the recorded track

HI folks. I am new to Pro Tools...very cluess! I managed to read some articles, get a couple of tracks added, and actually record my voice on track one..but when I play it back, i see the meters moving like it is playing the sound, but I can not heard anything from my PC speakers. Is there something i need to setup for Protools to know where to send the output? Do I have to set some bus output or something?
my setup is a mic, going to pre amp, going to fx processor, to the M-Box mini, to my Windows XP desktop with usb cable.
If I need to provide more info just let me know.
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:35 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

Quote:
I can not heard anything from my PC speakers.
Audio comes out of the MBox mini, not the computer sound card and/or speakers. The MBox does not pass audio back into the computer through the USB cable. To hear anything at all, you are going to need to connect some sort of monitoring equipment (headphones, powered speakers, amp + speakers, etc) to the MBox mini itself.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:04 PM
klrss klrss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

ok..bummer..i REALLY appreciat the reply. The guy at gutar center said I didnt need monitors when I specifically asked him...guess he misunderstood..because he was pretty sharp on the equipment I got. When i think about it, I had my headphones plugged in when I was recording my voice on track one, and could hear it when I was recording...but on playback I didnt hear it. That when I turned my PC speakers up to see if it would come through them and it didnt. After I finish recording a track, is there something I need to do, like save it, or take it offline ( saw that icon there somewhere) or something for it to send the recording on track 1 to the headphones?
Thanks,
Ron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:16 PM
deanguidry deanguidry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Lafayette, La.
Posts: 146
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

You have a long way to go, my friend, but do not get discouraged. Someone will help you. I'm only familiar with 002r so can't help you much with your hardware. However, try clicking on the master channel output menus and you will see output options. Select the most appropriate one, ie. analog 1-2 or output 1-2, or headphones or something like that. Make sure your headphones are plugged into headphone out of your protools box. Good luck!!
__________________
Dean Guidry
Attorney at Law
Lafayette, LA
Collections, Personal Injury, Entertainment Law
myspace.com/studio89rocks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:26 PM
klrss klrss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

your tellin' me! I HATE being the newbie! Thanks for the info..I will poke around some more on it, and hopefully I will accidently get it to work. ha!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:28 PM
LSW LSW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

What is the setup for your computer speakers? If they are external samplified peakers, you can unplug them from your soundcoard/PC and using the proper adapters, connect them to the output of the MBox.

You could also leave them connected (or if they are internal like in a laptop), you can try to route the MBox output back into the line input on your soundcard. (I'm not sure if this works tho)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:34 PM
timebandit timebandit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 167
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

I just wanted to interject another possibility here:

Did you leave the record enable (red 'R') button engaged after recording your vocal track? If so, try unclicking that before playback.

If you heard the track while you recorded something it sounds like at some point you had things setup correctly, but continue checking the things the other responder suggested.

Good luck!
__________________
Tom Lynn
my music:
www.tomlynnmusic.com
other people's music:
www.headphonomenon.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-11-2007, 02:08 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

You might also be in Input Only record monitoring mode. You can switch to auto output mode by pressing alt + k.

The Pro Tools Reference Guide (manual) is available as a PDF from the Windows Start menu, and it is an excellent place to search for information and learn about the program/hardware that you purchased.

One thing I would like to say about the "guy at Guitar Center"; he obviously isn't knowledgeable at all when it comes to Pro Tools, or he would have definitely answered you differently. I would not trust him for future information, if I were you.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:04 AM
klrss klrss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Can not hear the recorded track

Well, I poked around and I removed the cable from my PC speakers, and added an adapter to it and plugged it into inpiut 2 on the mini and now I can hear my recording through the headphones that are plugged into the mini.
Thanks for the help on this...I am sure you will see many more posts from me on other newbie items.
Thanks,
Ron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pro tools 10 i cant hear my recording/recorded track cassie11 Windows 7 11-28-2012 05:53 PM
How can I hear what's recorded on disk? Rockman413 Pro Tools 10 1 11-11-2012 07:41 AM
Can't Hear What I Recorded HELP SoulEmpowered 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-24-2010 10:44 AM
CAN I HEAR RECORDED TRACK AND PERSON THAT WILL PUNCH IN MASTERLINKSTUDIOS Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 01-09-2008 07:04 PM
Mbox, I can't hear what I recorded?... NegativeCreep 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-13-2005 05:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com