Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-19-2010, 07:58 PM
AC/DC1212 AC/DC1212 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2
Default Using Pro Tools M-Powered Essential (8.02) with Windows 7 32 bit (home premium)

Ok I'm going to go ahead and say that this question has probably been answered many time but iv looked through the FAQs for an hour and haven't found an answer.

I have a 32 bit operating system. (Windows 7 Home Premium), and a Dell Studio (15?). I also have one of the latest (if not the latest) version of Session. Today I went out and bought Pro Tools M-Powered Essential (8.02) along with the fast track USB interface. The drivers for the fast track installed fine but when i tried to install Pro Tools, an error message came up saying that Pro Tools only runs on 64-bit Vista. When I first got session it said the same thing but then I installed an update and works. I went to the M-audio site and couldn't find any updates or drivers for this version of Pro tools. (I also cant figure out how to completely work the fast track with session. the user manual didn't help very much)

Is there anyway I can run this version of Pro Tools on my current operating system? If not can someone give me better instruction on how to use the Fast Track with Session?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2011, 02:52 AM
reubenkinara reubenkinara is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 635 Bury Road
Posts: 2
Default Re: Using Pro Tools M-Powered Essential (8.02) with Windows 7 32 bit (home premium)

I don't think it can be installed on windows 7, I have the same problem
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2011, 10:24 PM
Nusdogg Nusdogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using Pro Tools M-Powered Essential (8.02) with Windows 7 32 bit (home premium)

I know this is an old thread; a year old. But to those that may face the same situation saying that they need a "64 bit vista", here's what I did...

I went to this link: http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=support&tab=driver and selected "USB Audio Series" in the first box then I selected "Fast Track" in the second box, and I selected "Window Vista 32-bit SP1" in the third box, and it'll load for a sec or two then scroll down and click the file name "Install M-Audio FastTrack 6.0.6.exe" then it'll take you to this page and a window will pop up and hit "No Thanks." then scroll down til you see a pink/peach box with the link that says "Install M-Audio FastTrack 6.0.6.exe (10.16 MB)." You'll want to click that link and save it onto your desktop. Once it's done downloading, you'll want to click on it and follow the direction.

You just needed the Fast Track 6.0 driver version for Window 7 or Windo Vista. Thats how I got mine to work. Hope this helps!
__________________
Music is how I express myself...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot start Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8 in Vista Home Premium SP2 jedijoe Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 10 12-29-2011 04:16 PM
Using Pro Tools M-Powered Essential (8.02) with Windows 7m32 bit (home premium) AC/DC1212 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 0 06-19-2010 07:47 PM
pro tools 8 windows vista home premium???? bskipacoustic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-02-2010 03:01 PM
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.3, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit scenicrecords Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 24 02-09-2010 02:43 PM
Need help with Pro Tools 7.4 on Windows Vista Home Premium therealprawphit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 12-29-2008 10:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com