Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2011, 10:08 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,019
Talking In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

...the most stable version yet! Putting aside the weird midi crap and the 48kHz tracking issue, I can't remember getting a single weird error since upgrading to Pro Tools 9 a month ago. I mixed a song for like 6 hours straight the other day without an error! Then I worked on another 4 songs today for nearly 7 hours just as care free. Pro Tools 8 was really stable for me as well, but occasionally, I'd get this terrible access violation error that caused me to not be able to stop playback of my session and required closing and relaunching Pro Tools. It didn't happen often, but often enough to annoy me. I'd say that error happened once in every 4-5 hours. But other than that, 8 was really smooth as well. Fingers crossed, looks like Avid's definitely moving in the right direction.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2011, 09:38 AM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
...the most stable version yet! Putting aside the weird midi crap and the 48kHz tracking issue, I can't remember getting a single weird error since upgrading to Pro Tools 9 a month ago. I mixed a song for like 6 hours straight the other day without an error! Then I worked on another 4 songs today for nearly 7 hours just as care free. Pro Tools 8 was really stable for me as well, but occasionally, I'd get this terrible access violation error that caused me to not be able to stop playback of my session and required closing and relaunching Pro Tools. It didn't happen often, but often enough to annoy me. I'd say that error happened once in every 4-5 hours. But other than that, 8 was really smooth as well. Fingers crossed, looks like Avid's definitely moving in the right direction.
gahh!!! all this talk about how awesome pt9 is makes me want to get it. Speaking of access violations, i get one once in a while on 8.0.4 that causes my mouse to disappear and requires a restart of protools to fix it. Iv gotta get a damn ilok first though and im having a hard time finding one.

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2011, 10:10 AM
daslicht daslicht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: earth
Posts: 378
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

>...the most stable version yet!

Uhh, for me Protools is still nightmare when it comes to using VIs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2011, 12:23 PM
mlemos mlemos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: new york
Posts: 1,110
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

most stable version i've seen in 13 years of protools. there's still room for improvement but they've done a great job. for me all the errors and access violations are history...and i had actually quit using protools for about a year because i couldn't take the constant errors and reboots.

well done avid. keep it up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2011, 02:08 PM
bootybandit bootybandit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Paris, France - Detroit, U.S.A.
Posts: 114
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

...........Same here, I find it quite stable but they need to fix the audio driver (popping & dostortion) problems A.S.A.P!

Playback through PT in front of clients is NOT kool!
__________________

Healing the world through music.................

Sony Vaio Laptop|2 Core P8700 2.53 Ghz 8 Gb Ram|Win8 x64
PT 9.0.6|Cubase 7|Samplitude Pro X|Reason 5|Spectrasonics|Komplete
RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Akai LPD8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2011, 05:06 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,019
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
gahh!!! all this talk about how awesome pt9 is makes me want to get it. Speaking of access violations, i get one once in a while on 8.0.4 that causes my mouse to disappear and requires a restart of protools to fix it. Iv gotta get a damn ilok first though and im having a hard time finding one.

Nick
You can get iLoks for $20 on eBay!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2011, 05:14 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

I know I have seen it on here, but now that I really want to find it I can't. What exactly is the 48K issue. And is 8.0.4 and 9 affected?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2011, 06:32 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Hellfire View Post
Putting aside the weird midi crap and the 48kHz tracking issue, I can't remember getting a single weird error since upgrading to Pro Tools 9 a month ago.
What weird midi stuff and 48k tracking issue?
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2018.7.0
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2011, 07:36 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,019
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by necjamc View Post
I know I have seen it on here, but now that I really want to find it I can't. What exactly is the 48K issue. And is 8.0.4 and 9 affected?
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Red-iLok-USB...#ht_2344wt_939
http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?rt=nc&LH...=p3286.c0.m301
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-iLok-Protool...ht_1395wt_1144


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
What weird midi stuff and 48k tracking issue?
This weird midi issue: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=294462

And the bug that causes audio to be placed too early/late when tracking at 48kHz on 002/003 in 8.0.4 and above: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=284457
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC Renaissance, NI Maschine MKI, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Pro Tools 12, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.5

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-20-2011, 12:33 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,647
Default Re: In my 3 years of using Pro Tools, PT 9 is...

Quote:
Originally Posted by daslicht View Post
Uhh, for me Protools is still nightmare when it comes to using VIs
When we finally see a 64bit Pro Tools the VI issues will be behind us. Until then it's VIENNA ENSEMBLE PRO. It's a great addition to PT for those RAM hungry VIs.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHY did I not do this 10 years ago?! midnightrambler Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-19-2010 07:23 AM
Returning to Pro Tools LE after 2 years away... Olly2000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-18-2010 12:21 AM
Pro Tools TDM 5 years from now? Bentley Ferrari Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-29-2009 03:01 PM
OT - 60 Years After D-Day The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-07-2004 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com