Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 03-31-2005, 06:04 PM

Default Advice on Upgrade of System 4 Mbox

Dear All,

I am a total newbie who just bought an Mbox with PTLE 6.7.(It is not opened yet so I can take it back.) Of course when I described by system to the sales person, it was no problem. Talking to Digi Tech support indicated that my Athalon XP1600+ is below their recommended specs. Then checking the Digidesign website I find under the “Known Incompatabilities” section: “computers with motherboards containing mixed chipsets from AMD plus VIA combined.” Now I am thinking compatibility issues and/or upgrades to my system and/or return the Mbox.

My System (actual and planned):

Planned: Dual Boot Win XP Home (SP1 on disk) (with 1 XP install totally dedicated to Pro Tools and I XP for general business. I am not a gamer. Space considerations prevent having separate system.)
Main HD: Seagate Baracuda 7200 rpm 200GB (3 partitions, 1 for PTLE)
Second HD: Western Digital 7200 rpm 250 GB to be dedicated to Pro Tools files
CPU: Athalon 1600XP+
MOBO: ASUS A7V266-C (VIA chipset)
RAM: Mixture of 256MB PC2100, 256MB 333MHz, 512 333Mhz Kingston (don’t know the PCxxxx rating of the last two)
NVidia GeForce 4 MX 420 video card
USB 2.0 + Firewire generic add on card
AVerTV TV tuner add on card
Wireless LAN card
ATX case
400 watt power supply

I am just getting back into music after a 6 year lay off due to a new schooling program. I was never very accomplished, so I am starting over with guitar and vocals. I do have a Roland VS 1680 for any basic recording needs.

My Application (in order of current priority)