Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-13-2014, 05:10 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Ok. It is huge for me. Please read huge as unacceptable - not long. Sorry english is not my native language;-)
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-16-2014, 04:19 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDazzler View Post
So are you getting good video results when dragging sounds on the timeline? Mine is spitting out about 3 frames/second. Scrubbing is about 10fps (This is out of the BM HDMI out).
I will say PT 11 video doesn't have as many frames in scrub as PT 10 did but I just don't need that, I guess. I normally find the rough spot I need to find and then go frame by frame. Scrubbing is the same. I never scrub faster then 10 frames a sec, which I think PT displays. If I move fast through the timeline, I see jumps. The jumps don't interupt my workflow.

As of 11.1.1 PT seems almost as fast as 10. Granted, I do get a microsecond of delay on play. Reminds me of PT 9.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-17-2014, 10:41 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,429
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Over here it's definitely better than before but significantly worse than under 10. For me the main issue is selecting across a section and nudging with +- which still feels sluggish.

So, better but still room for improvement.

Frank.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.10 (OSX10.14.6), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:21 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Here is the latency issue in playback I experience with PT 11.1.1
I comment on the video what I am doing.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-20-2014, 05:08 AM
paulo m's Avatar
paulo m paulo m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 314
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Hi Michael, seems that you made your movie with a smartphone or tablet.

Since you´re on a MAC, you can use QT player to record the screen activity instead much better results and easier.
__________________
Regards,

Paulo M
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-20-2014, 06:10 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulo m View Post
Hi Michael, seems that you made your movie with a smartphone or tablet.

Since you´re on a MAC, you can use QT player to record the screen activity instead much better results and easier.
Hi Paulo,

True. But I wanted to record also the TV and myself pressing spacebar…and also to record my voice comments.
Yes I was lazy to connect the mic and make from it a film production…although I could.
Don't you see the problem displaying on the video clear enough?
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:34 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
That delay is about 100 times greater than what I get. What are your system specs? Drive the video is on's specs? Video codec?

I can make PT playback that slow as well if I set up PT with slow drives, a slow computer, ect.....
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:39 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

That it too slow. I don't experience this, so there's must be a definite reason which we should find (I know Avid should find this, but maybe we can help).
The strange thing is I don't have that delay anywhere, not a single machine which I use exhibit this problem. Not even my laptop.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-20-2014, 12:43 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,220
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

I also get a shorter delay than what you are showing on your youtube video but..I have 260 audio tracks playing, massive plugins, including 24 instances of CEDAR, 12 reverbs including native IRLs, as well as DSP Revibes, all my tracks have Avid Strip DSP, and I am recording 6 X 5.1 stems for DX only, SFX only, music only, ltrt only, etc.My HDX is alsmost full and my computer, which is only an 8 core at 2.26 Ghz and about 8 years old, is almost chocking. I am also playing a 90 minute feature film with either Avid codec or Pro-Res HD at 1920X1080 and I am driving 4 monitors (2 on my desktop, and another s from my BM card). . My CPU is fully used, I am pushing my computer to the max and my start up delay is about 1/3 of what you are showing. I think something may be wrong with your set up.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-20-2014, 12:56 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,675
Default Re: Video Engine in PT11.1

Well, I would like to know as well whats wrong!
And why my PT HD 10.3.8 plaing a heavy session with 250 tracks and pushing to the limit my system (plugins, 5.1 stems e.t.c) still has 0 delay with the video playback. Same file. Same everything.
My specs are in my signature. I use DNxHD 36 1920x1080. 24 or 25 fps. Same happens even with DV codec.
Something suspicious I have with Sync Offset in PT11 though. While in PT 10 I have 11 quarter frames offset in PT 11 it is (yes, minus) -3 quarter frames. Measured with Syncheck 2 with a new battery..

I have never had that absence of answer for myself since PT5. But the good thing is that I seem to be the only one who has that long delay.
My dedicated Video only drive is 1T Caviar Black SATA internal drive.
Dedicated Audio drive is another 1T caviar Black SATA internal.
System only on a separate SATA 500 GB drive.
And again , working on a monster session in 10.3.8 is flawless and a pleasure with the same session.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24

Last edited by mgoorevich; 01-20-2014 at 02:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 10:10 AM
Video engine Bender 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-22-2010 07:30 PM
How to disable Video Engine Esus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-02-2010 03:21 PM
How do I get rid of the Video Engine? notr2d2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-31-2009 10:51 AM
Where's the Video Engine? admix Post - Surround - Video 4 05-02-2008 05:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com