Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-04-2010, 05:06 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,243
Default Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Just upgraded a Mac Pro here from 8.0.1cs1 to 8.0.3.
Nothing has changed, except for the update.
Same session, same video.

I have been without Quicktime issues until now.
I have 720X480 DVs made for me.
Quicktime is jerky when run on a separate monitor.
All 4 monitors (2 video cards) are 1920X1280.
Drag the Quicktime over the Protools edit/mix window, and Quicktime
is smooth.
Yes, I have checked all the usual suspects again, its 8.0.3



DIGI there is a real issue here, please acknowledge it and fix it.


Mac Pro
OSX 10.5.8
PT 8.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2010, 05:26 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,243
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Before I get the usual replies:

Video is on a separate drive.
No the sound input and output are not set to Digi HW.
I only use DV or Motion Jpeg A codecs.
Yes, I trashed all my prefs, etc.


This started with the upgrade to 8.0.3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2010, 06:48 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,130
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DIAFXMX View Post
All 4 monitors (2 video cards) are 1920X1280.
Sorry to hear about your QT, but you're not running an approved configuration. Swap that 2nd video card out for a Blackmagic Card and write back.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2010, 07:53 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,243
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
Sorry to hear about your QT, but you're not running an approved configuration. Swap that 2nd video card out for a Blackmagic Card and write back.
I've been running this way (perfectly) since PT8 Beta.
Only started on PT 8.0.3
It's not the video card, if I run 2 monitors with 1 card, it's still jerky on the
secondary monitor. But fine on the main monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:34 AM
marre marre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sweden
Posts: 12
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Hi DIAFXMX!
I had the same problem on my Mac Pro with a Mojo DNA. Everything was running smoothly and then I upgraded to 8.0.3 and my QT-movie (with the same settings as You) suddenly became jerky!
I updated the computer to 10.6.2 and it looks like it's back to normal again!
Bus as I said, I'm using a Mojo.

/martin
__________________
Mac Pro late 2013 3,5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
Mac OS 64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
BlackMagic UltraStudio Express

Pro Tools Ultimate HDX 2019.10
S3 - Dock - PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-05-2010, 12:19 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,243
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

I might just do that, upgrade this box to SL.

The workaround was to drop the resolution on the secondary monitors to 720X480 for now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2010, 01:33 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

I noticed some jerkiness playing out my Mojo in snow leopard PT HD 8.0.3 on a new mac pro.


I had always used the photo JPG or DV codec before but oddly enough the thing that runs the smoothest is h264 which has always been terrible since its intrafram vs. interframe (hope i didnt mix the two up)


scrubbing and everything is smoothe, not sure what to make of it but give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:15 PM
garnoil garnoil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,221
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Is it possible that your resolution is just too low to play back smoothly? 720 X480 is really very low. Many years ago I was running a canopus box at the 720X40 resolution and although it was not "jerky" per say, is certainly was not good quality. It was difficult to spot sound effects like footsteps, punches, etc. I run video at 1980 X 1020 Pro-res (I have an intensity card) and all my monitors are at that resolution or higher. Video play back is very smooth and solid. My sessions are feature films and the video alone is usually about 90 gigs. Video runs from a dedicated firewire 800, and audio is also split among several firewire 800 drives. The system, now under 8.03, appears to be very stable and responsive. You may want to try upping the video resolution and try the Prores codec. Hope this helps.

G
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2010, 02:41 PM
admix's Avatar
admix admix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 95
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

FWIW Dia, I ran into the same issue, albeit with a Mojo doing the same upgrade as you attempted.

I tried the in-place snow leopard upgrade (on top of my existing 10.5.8 install) to no avail. Same result.

I then made the decision to rebuild the system software-wise, from scratch. 10.6 clean install, followed by 8.0.3 clean install. Video problem was solved.

I checked after installing each additional piece of software or plugin to make sure everything still worked.

Been working with the new system for 2 days now with no video issues.

/fingers crossed/

Good luck,
-Steve
__________________
Stephen Rosen
SonicUnion
19 Union Square West
New York, NY 10003
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2010, 04:34 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,243
Default Re: Quicktime jerky 8.0.3

Quote:
Is it possible that your resolution is just too low to play back smoothly? 720 X480 is really very low
This started with 8.0.3!!!!!!

The resolution is fine for me, besides, thats pretty much the native Avid offline resolution, of which I receive my videos.


Let me rephrase, I have NOT had ANY issues since I started with PT8 Beta on this machine, until I went to 8.0.3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jerky Quicktime playback in PT9 mostlypost Post - Surround - Video 58 01-03-2012 12:35 PM
Jerky quicktime!!! Still!!! kava Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-01-2010 03:06 AM
PT mtc jerky ? Aquarius Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-30-2010 05:35 PM
Jerky Quicktime playback Studio Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 07-20-2010 09:26 AM
7.1 Running Jerky Papajelly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-16-2006 12:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com