Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2006, 02:27 PM
Arjen (Audio Ease) Arjen (Audio Ease) is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default Arjen (Altiverb) Introduction

Hi,

I am Arjen and I did most of the impulse response recordings for Altiverb, the convolution reverb on the Mac.

As you may have noticed the Windows XP-VST and -RTAS versions of Altiverb are out now, and because some of you will possibly be trying the demo, I'd like to stick around here a bit if you don't mind, see how it goes, perhaps answer questions when they arise.

We have sold most of our Altiverbs to your TDM Mac colleagues. Hope you like it here too.

Arjen
Audio ease
http://www.audioease.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-24-2006, 07:20 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: Arjen (Altiverb) Introduction

Hi Arjen,

I'm a big fan of IR reverbs. I, my self, have a fairly good library of IR's to chose from. The reverb plug in I use if called Pristine Space. I really like this reverb because it's multichannel. As in I can have up to eight outputs and it's really CPU efficient. What are the advantages to Altiverb over a plug in like pristine space? Also, while we're on the subject please compare LT space as well.

Thanks,
Brandon
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-24-2006, 07:20 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,857
Default Re: Arjen (Altiverb) Introduction

Hi Arjen,

I'm a big fan of IR reverbs. I, my self, have a fairly good library of IR's to chose from. The reverb plug in I use if called Pristine Space. I really like this reverb because it's multichannel. As in I can have up to eight outputs and it's really CPU efficient. What are the advantages to Altiverb over a plug in like pristine space? Also, while we're on the subject please compare LT space as well.

Thanks,
Brandon
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-27-2006, 03:10 AM
Arjen (Audio Ease) Arjen (Audio Ease) is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Arjen (Altiverb) Introduction

I couldn't find my reply to this ( I did write it) , so here goes:

The difference is in the IR's

and then there are differences in the processor (Altiverb).
The differences include length (our cathedrals ring for 12 secs while ir1 cuts off at 6) We do cross terms (Left speaker emits, right mic picks up (some processors or efficient modes leave them out). Altiverb has some functions you can't find elsewhere (stage positioning , visual feedback features like waterfall, 360 surround pictures). We do more plug-in formats and are more efficient on the CPU.

But the difference is in the IR's, that's where our real investment is. We went after the big halls, the 20 car interiors and the jumbo jet and will keep doing it where everyone else has left off. We release free new stuff every couple weeks. http://www.audioease.com/IR

If you are interested i can get you a temporary license (say a month ) to run the whole thing so you can appreciate the difference.
mail me privately if you want that. arjenATaudioease.com

best,

Arjen
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2006, 02:12 PM
David Sandwisch David Sandwisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Cupertino, California
Posts: 286
Default Re: Arjen (Altiverb) Introduction

Is Altiverb for PT on PC the same in every way as the MAC version? Can we do surround verbs? I have used it on a MAC and like it and I am interested in trying it out for my PC rig.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altiverb AAX64 ? Altiverb->DDMF metaplugin Paul Turpin AAX Plug-ins 5 11-22-2013 02:59 PM
introduction jehuda Pro Tools 10 4 07-13-2012 09:56 AM
Advice on running an introduction to PT davegibbon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-30-2009 06:05 AM
Introduction and Mixer Help... pagan5000 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 12-02-2008 10:18 AM
Introduction Arjen of Audio Ease (Altiverb) Arjen (Audio Ease) 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-23-2006 04:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com