Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-22-2017, 01:17 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 189
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Yes, I tend to agree with Albee (thank you Drew, YYR, musicman for replying). The RME is tricky. Sure it's made me a better producer, but the older I get, the less I want all these volume 'variables'. ....and there are MANY on the 802.

Ok, now I have the Slate Raven touch screen for faders. If I would get the Avid interface, would that be screen be sufficient, or would there still be another screen to contend with?

I'm good with 16 channels for now, but it's a good feeling even with my 802 and the Ferrofish that I have about 26 channels to work with (even more, actually).
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-22-2017, 01:33 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 189
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
As for "how do you reference your volume and routing levels if you don't have the screen like the RME does?" I'm not clear on the question. I have all the metering I need right on the screen(MIX or EDIT window).
Good question Albee, what I meant was what you were referring too: another mixing screen to deal with. That's what I don't want. Just don't want to deal with another screen of 'volumes' (The RME has 3 levels hardware output, software playback, hardware input levels, etc.).

Would I be correct in saying that the easiest actual route to go, as expensive as it might be, would be to go HD and get an I/O?
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-22-2017, 02:31 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,905
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
Good question Albee, what I meant was what you were referring too: another mixing screen to deal with. That's what I don't want. Just don't want to deal with another screen of 'volumes' (The RME has 3 levels hardware output, software playback, hardware input levels, etc.).

Would I be correct in saying that the easiest actual route to go, as expensive as it might be, would be to go HD and get an I/O?
I still think you should look at Quantom(unless you can't use a thunderbolt interface). As for screens, I can't work with less than 2(running 3 at the moment). I keep the MIX window and EDIT window always up on 2 screens. My 3rd is for stuff I like to leave up, but out of the way(cpu meter, Memory Locations and FabFilter ProQ2 on my master, for its spectral readout). Back to HDN, its not a cheap route, so don't blindly start buying bits. It requires:
HDN card(PCIe or Thunderbolt)
Pro Tools HD software(can't run with PT vanilla)
Digilink iLok license(or the digilink ports won't work
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Monitors.jpg (69.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-22-2017, 02:45 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 189
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Per Avid's site, the digilink license is not required prior to 12.5 which is what I use. Getting tired of my latency problems anyhow.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-22-2017, 08:17 PM
DannyB_KY's Avatar
DannyB_KY DannyB_KY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: 2miles from Jim Beam
Posts: 44
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

I've had several interfaces, including a UA Twin Duo. I sold them all. Two mic pres isn't enough. I wanted the AU 8P but I can't justify that kind of expense and that mixer is an active mixer that you have to run with PT.

If you have deep pockets, get the 8P. The next best thing is the Focusrite 8Pre or 8PreX. The software is more to set up your system and not adding an extra mix window. Much simpler. And it's a killer interface in its own right. The "Air" feature is an actual circuit, not a software emulation, based on the ASA series.

Intro To Focusrite Control for the Clarett 8PreXl
__________________
An understand spouse, some mics, tube guitar amps, gray foam stuff stuck to the walls, a drum kit, a Mac or two, and an interface. A really understanding spouse!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-23-2017, 01:50 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,905
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
Per Avid's site, the digilink license is not required prior to 12.5 which is what I use. Getting tired of my latency problems anyhow.
True, but you still need Pro Tools HD software
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-23-2017, 02:19 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 189
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

I agree Albee. Just saw PT 12 HD native with card for $2200 on fleabay.
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-23-2017, 04:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,905
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
I agree Albee. Just saw PT 12 HD native with card for $2200 on fleabay.
Check to see if the pro tools licence is perpetual or a 1-year subscription(its important to know exactly what you are getting). For reference, I have seen just the HDN card for $750-$1000 with no software Also, you can save some cash by starting with a used 192 is your IO(around $500), but do get the one that suits your needs. A 192 DIGITAL is only going to have digital IO, so you get no converters. The "standard" 192 has 8 IO on analog plus 8 IO on digital so its probably your best option. The "standard" version can also take an extra card for either 8 analog INS or OUTS, but not both. The digital connections can be used with several boxes for more IO(anywhere from $200 up to several thousand). If you do go with a 192, you will need a Mini-Digilink to Digilink adapter(which usually comes with the HDN card, but make sure or budget to buy one)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-24-2017, 04:49 PM
firmflange's Avatar
firmflange firmflange is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 189
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Here's the card I'm looking at:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Avid-Hd-Nati...19.m1438.l2649


PT 12HD with Card. Would I be good to go with this?
__________________
PT 12HD Native / 192 / Yosemite / Cheese Slicer 3.33GHz 12-core / SSD Hard Drive / 32GB RAM
Slate Raven MTi2 / Artist Control
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-24-2017, 05:49 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,449
Default Re: What is the most user friendly PT interface?

Quote:
Originally Posted by firmflange View Post
Here's the card I'm looking at:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Avid-Hd-Nati...19.m1438.l2649


PT 12HD with Card. Would I be good to go with this?
"Go" in what sense? Go to use Pro Tools HD with your current interface? Sure

With a DigiLink interface? What are you planning on purchasing? You can't use that core card without a DigiLink Interface. And you can't aggregate or combine DigiLink interfaces with a your RME 800, although you can use that outboard as an ADAT preamp.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools = Very Non-user friendly Interface Glide 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 11-27-2005 11:57 PM
Seek friendly-helpful PT user to corraspond with. DVDave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-12-2004 03:07 AM
Cross platform user with question for veterans jpd52 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 01-28-2004 12:33 PM
Most reliable and user friendly Mac+PT setup? kbahjat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-09-2003 10:47 AM
Dsp friendly eq? Allbaldo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-23-2002 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com