Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2003, 07:49 AM
tlester tlester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 549
Default Magma expansion on a a 15\" or 17\" PB G4, OSX, PT6?

Hi all -

Are the Magma expansion chassies on a PB G4 laptop supported yet under OSX/PT6.x? If so, is anyone running this configuration with HD?

I'm interested in setting something like this up for mobile recording as well as home stuff.

Let me know.

-Tom
__________________
http://SpeakRecords.COM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2003, 11:02 AM
scottgreiner scottgreiner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 878
Default Re: Magma expansion on a a 15\" or 17\" PB G4, OSX,

I have a TiG4 667/Magma 4slot/Mix++. I'm running OS 10.2.6 and ProTools 6.1 + Reason 2.5 with no problems. I had problems with an old SCSI card in the chassis when I upgraded to OS 10, so I yanked it - all is well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2003, 11:33 AM
CraigLearmont CraigLearmont is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Alberta
Posts: 235
Default Re: Magma expansion on a a 15\" or 17\" PB G4, OSX,

I'm currently running a Powerbook G4 800 with System 10.2.6 and Pro Tools 6.1 with a Magma HD2/192 system. It works great, and I'm looking forward to getting Reason 2.5 as well as the Waves stuff on my iLok.

I tracked a rock project a few months ago using this system, and I'm just in the middle of tracking a kids bible project with it as well.

Pro Tools 6.1 feels a little sluggish though, as other users have noted.

I'm tracking everything to a Glyph mBox Companion firewire drive. It works wonderfully.

email me at craiglearmont@mac.com if you have any questions.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2003, 09:43 AM
Captain Crunch Captain Crunch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Portland, OR / Los Angeles
Posts: 362
Default Re: Magma expansion on a a 15\" or 17\" PB G4, OSX,

My system is also working fine, TiBook 15"/667, 1024 ram, PT6.1 on 10.2.6, Magma CB2 with HD2, running on Firewire drives that are inside the Magma. I don't find 6.1 to be any more sluggish than its 2 predecessors, but I do find OS X sluggish. Hopefully 10.3 (Panther) will be faster.

I have a website about my rig, it should answer any questions you have.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2003, 11:47 AM
Vaphoron Vaphoron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 2,539
Default Re: Magma expansion on a a 15\" or 17\" PB G4, OSX, PT6?

Yes, it is now Digi approved, look at the compatibility docs here for specifics.
http://www.digidesign.com/compato/osx/hd/

Check this out if you didn't purchase one yet cause they are running a special discount for orders done in the next couple weeks.
http://www.digidesign.com/diginews/2003/8-03/magma.html
__________________
- Jason
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2003, 12:46 PM
tlester tlester is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 549
Default Re: Magma expansion on a a 15\" or 17\" PB G4, OSX,

Are there any performance issues with the Magma being 33Mhz 32bit?

-Tom
__________________
http://SpeakRecords.COM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can any Magma Expansion Chassis be used? pauldiedeutsche Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 08-31-2010 06:38 PM
MAGMA EXPANSION CHASSIS studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-09-2007 07:40 PM
4 slot magma expansion? dawkab Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 03-31-2004 10:21 PM
HD and the old Magma expansion chassis? Allan Speers Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 07-04-2002 12:02 AM
MAGMA new 64 bits expansion lointier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-03-2002 07:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com