Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-02-2015, 08:28 PM
gtomassetti's Avatar
gtomassetti gtomassetti is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 255
Default Re: Solution if Maschine etc. is not woking with Yosemite.

Did you read my posts? I tried that.
__________________
Mobile: 17" MBP (2.66 GHz Intel Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 10.10.5), True Systems Precision 8, MH LIO-8
Home: Mac Pro (2x2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon "Westmere", 32 GB RAM; 10.10.5; boot drive 960 GB Mercury Accelsior_E2 PCIe card), OMNI, MH ULN-2, MOTU 8pre
PT HDN 12.6; REAPER 5+ (32 & 64-bit); PreSonus Studio One 3 Pro, Central Station Plus, and FaderPort
WAY too many plugins and VIs; WaveLab 8.5; Sound Forge Pro
Finale 2014d, 2014.5, 25.2
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2015, 07:58 PM
lionel frampton lionel frampton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 13
Default Re: Solution if Maschine etc. is not woking with Yosemite.

I wouldn't say it's a solution because when you remove the plugin you can't monitor 3rd party applications like Maschine. So now I can open Maschine and can't hear it. Oh that's great! Problem solved!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-17-2015, 06:59 PM
Defekt Defekt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 52
Default Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite

Maschine 2 just jumps in the dock like a fish on land when the Avid Core Audio HD Driver is installed. If I remove the "Avid CoreAudio.plugin" file from the Macintosh HD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL folder, Maschine launches no problem. I'd say even snappy. I'm thankful to have a work around for now, but this seems like it should be fixed by now. When can we expect an update to repair this?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-18-2015, 04:52 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,274
Default Re: Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite

Quote:
Originally Posted by Defekt View Post
Maschine 2 just jumps in the dock like a fish on land when the Avid Core Audio HD Driver is installed. If I remove the "Avid CoreAudio.plugin" file from the Macintosh HD/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL folder, Maschine launches no problem. I'd say even snappy. I'm thankful to have a work around for now, but this seems like it should be fixed by now. When can we expect an update to repair this?
There have been threads here about Yosemite and hardware dependent plugins from NI. NI even sent out an email to people in October 2014. Here's what's in the email:

Native Instruments has conducted compatibility tests with Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite which have shown current NI products to work without any specific issues under standard installations of this operating system.

However, products with a hardware dependency, such as MASCHINE, KOMPLETE KONTROL, TRAKTOR, GUITAR RIG, and Controller Editor will not launch when the AVID CoreAudioManager/Drivers are installed under 10.10 Yosemite. Native Instruments and Avid are working together to resolve this compatibility issue.

Native Instruments is currently conducting further systematic compatibility and performance tests with the release version of Yosemite, and will provide new information as it becomes available.

Best regards,

The Native Instruments team

As near as I know nothing has been done about this yet. You might want to also check in over at the NI Maschine forum on this as well. This is strictly an Avid or NI problem alone but needs work on the part of both companies.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-20-2015, 10:47 AM
beatlogik beatlogik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 48
Default Re: Solution if Maschine etc. is not woking with Yosemite.

My solution:

1) Remove AvidCoreAudio from the HAL folder
2) Setup a PT aggregate in the Audio/MIDI Utility and make sure digital out is checked.
3) Optical audio out from the MacPro tower into optical in on the HD Omni
4) Setup the Optical/SPIDIF monitoring preferences in AvidCoreAudio manager (still boots to setup preferences regardless of removing the HAL component)
5) Restart and boot Maschine
6) Select the PT aggregate in the Audio preferences
7) Boom, make music

This workaround sets up your system to run all system audio and monitor through the Omni conversion. Completely bypasses the Avid drivers entirely. Protools works as expected as well using the HD Native Card. Don't think I'll be putting the driver back into the HAL folder ever again actually :)

MacPro 2,1
OSX 10.10.1
PT11.3 with current driver
HD Native Card
HD Omni
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-11-2015, 10:41 PM
lionel frampton lionel frampton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 13
Default 11.3.1 still doesn't work with Native Instruments Maschine

Still doesn't work with Native Instruments Maschine. Does anyone know if Avid is going to update their core audio driver so it works with Maschine and Yosemite? Anyone? Avid?...you listening?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-12-2015, 12:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,332
Default Re: 11.3.1

Avid cannot fix NI problems, only the bugs of their own.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-12-2015, 05:11 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,274
Default Re: 11.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Avid cannot fix NI problems, only the bugs of their own.
Then why did NI in their email back in 2014 say they were working with Avid on this? Here's the text of the email from NI (it was a broadcast email):

Native Instruments has conducted compatibility tests with Mac OS X 10.10 Yosemite which have shown current NI products to work without any specific issues under standard installations of this operating system.

However, products with a hardware dependency, such as MASCHINE, KOMPLETE KONTROL, TRAKTOR, GUITAR RIG, and Controller Editor will not launch when the AVID CoreAudioManager/Drivers are installed under 10.10 Yosemite. Native Instruments and Avid are working together to resolve this compatibility issue.

Native Instruments is currently conducting further systematic compatibility and performance tests with the release version of Yosemite, and will provide new information as it becomes available.

Best regards,

The Native Instruments team

It would seem from this it's a joint operation to fix this. It's not like there haven't been issues with CoreAudio that still exist and that's an Avid issue.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-12-2015, 05:50 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,332
Default Re: 11.3.1

Just normal PR b----hit that means nothing.

One thing than needs to be understood is that NI software works nicely. At least here, Kontakt5 and few libraries I use weekly.

It is their hardware (drivers) that won't work. So they've asked for help. But you cannot blame another hardware vendor if your own drivers are not working, can you? Say, you have a Logitech mouse and that's why your Focusrite audio interface is not working... sounds rather silly, doesnt' it?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-12-2015, 01:28 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,274
Default Re: 11.3.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Just normal PR b----hit that means nothing.

One thing than needs to be understood is that NI software works nicely. At least here, Kontakt5 and few libraries I use weekly.

It is their hardware (drivers) that won't work. So they've asked for help. But you cannot blame another hardware vendor if your own drivers are not working, can you? Say, you have a Logitech mouse and that's why your Focusrite audio interface is not working... sounds rather silly, doesnt' it?
Totally different case Janne. NI product and PT were meant to work together in a symbiotic relationship and both partners have to bring something to the dance.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver! zion macOS 57 01-02-2015 03:57 PM
Core Audio 6.7 breaks Apple DVD player Chris Coleman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-02-2005 09:19 PM
New Core Audio Breaks Apple DVD Player? Last Legend Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-14-2003 01:08 AM
Bug in Digi Core Audio Driver? Driver update coming? mgbasinski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2003 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com