Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 11-30-2010, 04:46 AM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 129
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

I believe 1 sample offset is correct for digi interfaces. Theoretically you cannot be reading and writing the same sample at once, hence the 1 sample delay.

The problem is difficult to explain and many people are totally unaware that it happens.

FYI. Once you've recorded an overdub, you can change the "user offset" delay at the bottom of mix view strips to -X where X is you offset and all will line up on playback. In my case, its -72.

Don't forget to change it back to 0 before recording on that track again - or you offset will get worse. Negative values push the wav file back when recording. Kinda like what we're asking for - but in the opposite direction!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11-30-2010, 04:53 AM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 129
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
We are aware of the usability problem that is caused by not having user-definable record delay compensation and will look at ways to possibly improve this in the future.
Thank you. That is what I wanted to hear. Looking forward to it - sooner than later I hope!

-Dan
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:43 AM
vans316 vans316 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

excellent. Thats dealt with then.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-30-2010, 05:59 PM
SteveBoker SteveBoker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 29
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
We are aware of the usability problem that is caused by not having user-definable record delay compensation and will look at ways to possibly improve this in the future.
Very glad to hear it! Thank you for being present and supporting what is really a terrific product. For now, I've got my workaround set up as a template, so I'm happily at work.

Cheers,

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-01-2010, 09:41 AM
WinTaper WinTaper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 129
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Hopefully "future versions" means the next update
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:29 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinTaper View Post
Hopefully "future versions" means the next update
Being that ur new around here, I will say don't get ur hopes set on that...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:34 AM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Lightbulb Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keybeeetsss View Post
Being that ur new around here, I will say don't get ur hopes set on that...
Come on! Get your hopes up. Look, "getting our hopes up" made the delivery of ADC in Pro Tools 9 that much sweeter. We had our hopes up so high for so long, the delivery was exquisite!

__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-01-2010, 10:36 AM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by getz76 View Post
Come on! Get your hopes up. Look, "getting our hopes up" made the delivery of ADC in Pro Tools 9 that much sweeter. We had our hopes up so high for so long, the delivery was exquisite!

Don't getz all 76 guys to start the decade brigade which is how long ADC was waited for


__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-23-2010, 07:13 AM
mike_mccue mike_mccue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

Hi,
I am also a new PT user and have grown accustomed to the ability to test my system once and set it for compensation.

I run a MOTU 896HD with extra inputs coming in via ADAT.

In SONAR, the app allows me to augment what is automatically determined to be the correct compensation with a manual input to reflect that actual real life need.

My experience is that many people do not take the sync seriously... but I wish to have perfect sync and so this interests me greatly. When I started in DAW I thought this issue was a huge downside and was relieved greatly when SONAR provided a semi automated solution.

I hope Avid can provide the function in the near future.

Thank You.

best regards,
mike
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-23-2010, 09:41 AM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 223
Default Re: Manual Delay Comp Problem

BTW, I created a Gearslutz thread a few weeks back after doing some testing. It turns out that at default settings PT9 compensates exactly the same as Sonar and the audio ends up exactly 1 sample behind. You can see my findings along with screenshots here:

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music...nterfaces.html

Check out post #115 for the screenshots:

http://www.gearslutz.com/board/6086380-post115.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! Bouncing-in-place by recording to new audio tracks - delay comp problem johnnybigmoose Pro Tools 9 9 12-31-2012 01:36 AM
PT 10.0.0 HD Native Automation Problem with Delay Comp Chris Trent macOS 5 01-07-2012 03:04 AM
Delay Comp problems again, Delay comp is RED but way below limits. soundeq Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-29-2011 12:01 PM
since cs3 intermittent UAD/Wrapped plugs delay comp problem crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 06-16-2009 09:12 AM
Problem with Delay Comp. and not enough DSP/Time slots... storm-01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-16-2007 01:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com