Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2001, 05:50 PM
patman patman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: clayton,ca,usa
Posts: 47
Default C25 ethernet noise?

Anybody getting noise using -10 devices or keyboards thru the focusrite inputs?when I use keyboards thru my line in mic pre's I can hear all the automation's movement ticking thru the speakers. Help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2001, 11:54 PM
fdc fdc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

Same problem... Just hooked the C24 up today. Tested it and noticed clicking sounds that increase in frequency when moving the faders while listening to mic/line inputs. Didn't get very far isolating problem. I'll post again if I'm able to find a solution. Help!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2001, 08:20 PM
jang kyung won jang kyung won is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: seoul,south korea
Posts: 16
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

Have you tried combine 'cold'and 'shield' of line output connector(Keyboard)?
Tell me the results.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2001, 09:45 AM
midilandiaMex midilandiaMex is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Mexico,Distrito Federal,Mexico
Posts: 12
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

On several cases in which noise has been detected when ethernet activity
(faders, VUmeters, etc) the solution has been to double check grounds on every
connector. This includes the amplifier audio cables, and speaker cables. If this
connection is not balanced, then the "-" has to be grounded.

On other cases, when the power amplifiers and the Control 24 are plugged into
different power outlets, this will result in a constant hum or buzz.
Disconnecting the ground pin at one end of the audio cable feeding each power
amp should break the loop.

Similarly, if you are connecting a syntheziser or a guitar on the "DI" input
with a mono cable, make sure you are using an unbalanced mono cable. If you use
a balanced stereo plug or "TRS" then the "-" pin will float and will pick up
noise.

Hope this helps you solve instalation problems. If problems persist find your
local shaman for the "Mother Earth Dance"

Mike
down in Mexico city
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2001, 10:03 PM
fdc fdc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

This is what the Digidesign tech support guys had to say, via email:

This problem can been traced to a possible ground loop through the Ethernet connector board. Luckily, there is an easy fix which may solve this problem.
Here's what you need to do:
-Remove the 2 jack screws on the 9 pin D connector next to the Ethernet jack (I think it's labeled "I/O").
-Remove the metal shell from the connector on the Ethernet cable that plugs into the C24 (It peels off pretty easily)

-OR-

-Simply purchase an unshielded Ethernet crossover cable from your local computer store (this is different from a standard RJ45 cable).


Best regards,
Digidesign Technical Support

I'll let y'all know if it works!


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2001, 01:22 AM
3james 3james is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Posts: 78
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

did it work???????? hmmm?????
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2001, 01:43 AM
Frafa Frafa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Köln, Germany
Posts: 2
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

yes it works.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2001, 09:25 AM
patman patman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: clayton,ca,usa
Posts: 47
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

Yes It Works great!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2001, 12:49 AM
fdc fdc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

Which did you do? Remove screws, or remove the metal casing from the ethernet cable?


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-10-2001, 08:26 AM
patman patman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: clayton,ca,usa
Posts: 47
Default Re: C25 ethernet noise?

Removing the screws was all it took to solve the ethernet ground loop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Control / Ethernet Connection and Noise Problems lberrios1962 Artist Series 8 05-04-2012 08:20 AM
Attn: Drumkit from Hell experts: noise noise noise Smelt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-30-2003 06:31 AM
Ethernet again... kmt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-02-2003 02:54 PM
Mac Ethernet help?? David Lawler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-14-2002 07:12 PM
ethernet... jwhartmann Storage Subsystems 1 05-13-1999 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com