Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2018, 10:57 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 841
Default Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

So... I've been reluctant to move on from my d control 48 fader. I have an extra 16 fader expansion but do not have the frame to make a 64 icon.

Is it worth moving to S6m40 32 channel? It seems not all the functions are on the s6 yet that are on the icon.

My other option is to get another used 16 fader d control and jam it together for a big 80 fader icon. But then I would be 2 icons deep on an eol product.

I had a s6 all spec'd out and was going to pull trigger but lost my nerve. $$$$

Is the s6 there yet?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2018, 03:05 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is online now
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,045
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

What features are you worried about that are missing. Its true we don't have custom knobs (we have custom faders and more) and the other workflows are much better so mask anything thats missing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-20-2018, 07:08 AM
clipgod clipgod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Berlin
Posts: 9
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

from an ex D-Control User: After switching to the S6 my workflow speeded up 100%. Also, as I am reading about your huge channel count D-Control, I found the S6 to be perfectly equipped with 24 channels. That`s all you need, as a press of a button is so much faster than moving to the other side of the studio to reach fader #60. Just my opinion, according to my workflow
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-20-2018, 01:31 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 841
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
What features are you worried about that are missing. Its true we don't have custom knobs (we have custom faders and more) and the other workflows are much better so mask anything thats missing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by clipgod View Post
from an ex D-Control User: After switching to the S6 my workflow speeded up 100%. Also, as I am reading about your huge channel count D-Control, I found the S6 to be perfectly equipped with 24 channels. That`s all you need, as a press of a button is so much faster than moving to the other side of the studio to reach fader #60. Just my opinion, according to my workflow
I do not use fader flip for sends and plugin parameters. I keep it on the knobs. I use custom fader groups and substantiate inserts from the console. I do have custom knob assignments for plugins on the knobs for the 3rd party plugs via learn function. I'm only working on stereo music.

These are my main needs. I try not to use the led monitors when I mix and try to stay on the console.

So I basically need to do inserts via s6. Custom fader groups that spill on the surface when selected. And plugin mapping for 3rd party plugins on the knobs. Is that currently all doable? Or do I need to go into the center touch screen? (Looks like the assignable knobs are not functional yet on s6. )

Thanks guys
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2018, 04:02 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

You're in NY. There has to be place you can go and sit in front of one for a demo to see if it would be something for you.

There are pros and cons to both but mostly pros to upgrading to an S6, IMHO.
You just have to be willing to be adventurous and not stay contained within your "confined box" style of mixing on the ICON. That's not meant as an insult. I was a transfer student myself coming from an ICON and my mistake was to look for the similarities instead of the actual features. Some of the methods you may have grown accustomed to may not transfer over to the S6. However, the fantastic part is you'll mostly discover better, faster ways of doing the same things.

Yes, some of the ICON features did not port over to S6. Like Eddie said, coming releases will contain some of those features. It would be in your best interest to throughly watch some videos on You Tube as well as the videos released by AVID themselves. They show some if not most of the functions available on the S6.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2018, 07:05 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 841
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
You're in NY. There has to be place you can go and sit in front of one for a demo to see if it would be something for you.



There are pros and cons to both but mostly pros to upgrading to an S6, IMHO.

You just have to be willing to be adventurous and not stay contained within your "confined box" style of mixing on the ICON. That's not meant as an insult. I was a transfer student myself coming from an ICON and my mistake was to look for the similarities instead of the actual features. Some of the methods you may have grown accustomed to may not transfer over to the S6. However, the fantastic part is you'll mostly discover better, faster ways of doing the same things.



Yes, some of the ICON features did not port over to S6. Like Eddie said, coming releases will contain some of those features. It would be in your best interest to throughly watch some videos on You Tube as well as the videos released by AVID themselves. They show some if not most of the functions available on the S6.
Hmmm. Thanks. Watched a lot of the videos. I don't have a studio where I can go and work on a mix on the s6.

My main hesitation right now besides the cost is all the complaints about the slow development of the software.

I need to just get on one and mix a few songs i guess.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-20-2018, 07:10 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

Aside from it being “new”, what are the main reasons you would want to upgrade from the D-Control? Assuming your current console is working perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2018, 09:14 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 841
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Aside from it being “new”, what are the main reasons you would want to upgrade from the D-Control? Assuming your current console is working perfectly.
Have a studio rebuild coming up this year. Remodel. If I upgrade now would be best. Footprint of console is a consideration. If I stick with icon for another 4 or 5 years I will make a 64 or 80 fader icon. And commit to 5 more years of work on it. The Eol issue of the icon is a main concern.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2018, 12:48 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,721
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by arche3 View Post
Have a studio rebuild coming up this year. Remodel. If I upgrade now would be best. Footprint of console is a consideration. If I stick with icon for another 4 or 5 years I will make a 64 or 80 fader icon. And commit to 5 more years of work on it. The Eol issue of the icon is a main concern.
We just jumped from a D Control ES32 to ordering a S6 M40 9knob with 48 faders and as a studio here has an S6 M40 I had a weekend with that controller all by myself and it was a no brainer for us ( my two brothers and me ) so we were to go with a 24 fader or max 32 however as I have finally got one of my scripts for a TV Mystery Drama show approved ( i had written that story over 15 years ago ) which I been fine tuning for the past 10 years we went with 48 faders.

One of my wishes when I sold the script was to be the main score studio as I have put a lot of thought into the score for the scenes so we got rhe score job and thats why we went with 48 faders making mixing music both for the songs we sell and produce but most for the scoring of the show

So as to your question and thoughts I would definitely ask a studio who has one or a Vintage King etc if you can have a day mixing with the S6 before selling your D Control as the second hand value isn’t great compared to what we paud for the S6. Thank God for write offs hehe

Let me know if you need any indepth info later as our S6 should be delivered and installed second week of january if all goes well.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-2018, 12:54 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,104
Default Re: Moving to S6 m40 from Icon

I hope to hear about an online audio forum as a plot item mentioned in some Swedish mystery TV series in future.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving audio region without moving automation? tokolosh Post - Surround - Video 6 04-09-2014 06:11 AM
Moving across country icon dcommand Markk ICON & C|24 3 05-10-2012 08:58 AM
Icon D-control faders - resistance in moving tvjorg ICON & C|24 5 07-19-2011 10:30 AM
Moving the Icon concole tvjorg ICON & C|24 3 11-20-2008 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com