Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 10-22-2017, 02:37 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,116
Default MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

And no what you were likely told by other folks to do was get a Thunderbolt expansion dock, not a hub, but with that HDD you are likely wasting your time...

OK now you are on your own. Good luck there.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 10-27-2017, 10:55 AM
aslamamin aslamamin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Ireland
Posts: 29
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Hi Aaron ANV,

Thanks for your reply. You probably seen from the comments above, I think I will need to change my external drive as its a 5400rpm. I would be using the program 'Reason' through rewire as well so maybe it is best to get a better external drive? Also what's your thoughts on the USB External drive or the thunderbolt external device option? Some people think the USB wouldn't do the job? Do you use a USB Hub?

Thanks a million,

Aslam
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 10-27-2017, 01:39 PM
Aaron ANV Aaron ANV is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 41
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

Hi Aslam,

The advice you received about external hard drives is pretty accurate. You do want to make sure it's 7200rpm. You could potentially look at USB3, Thunderbolt, or FireWire 800 drives if you have the right adapters.

I personally use the AkiTio Thunder2 Dock (check it out on google). This gives you 2 Thunderbolt 2 Ports, 2 USB 3.0 Ports, 2 eSATA Ports, and 1 FireWire 800 Port. My main recording drive is hooked up to the FireWire 800 port, and I use the additional Thunderbolt port for a second monitor screen. I use an additional USB hub plugged into that for my iLok, multiple MIDI keyboards, wireless mouse, etc.

Check out www.MacSales.com when looking for a drive. I've been using the "OWC on the go" drives for years.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01-10-2018, 04:02 PM
piedpiper piedpiper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Fairfield, Iowa
Posts: 3
Default Re: MBox Pro and FireWire/Thunderbolt adapter

The video card in my 2011 iMac recently died and I've been trying to get back to work using my girlfriend's 2015 MacBook pro. I had been using the excellent Black Lion Audio Signature Modded Digi 002R for many years. It had been having increased problems with error messages stopping in the middle of tracking with only a couple tracks and plugins open and with ample buffer, but it still worked in a compromised way. After purchasing an Apple firewire to thunderbolt adapter and using a firewire 400 to 800 cable, the MacBook wouldn't see the 002R. I then purchased an Mbox 3 Pro as a stop gap, thinking that if I used my outboard preamps and converters I wouldn't be loosing quality, but found that the MacBook wouldn't see the Mbox Pro either. I'm using the most recent Protools and drivers. There doesn't seem to be many options for non HD Avid interfaces and if I want to maintain the quality of the BLA modded 002R I'm in line to spend several thousand dollars on a Symphony or the like, plus outboard preamps. Thoughts on how to get the firewire to thunderbolt to work? Lost cause?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC adapter for Mbox Pro 3 Firewire Billiam1959 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 08-28-2013 12:28 PM
Thunderbolt drive with MBox Pro (firewire 400) KingTor macOS 2 11-13-2012 05:18 AM
Apple $29 Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter now available nst7 Pro Tools 10 1 08-01-2012 07:38 AM
Mbox 2 Pro - Firewire or power adapter? ffernandes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-06-2010 08:29 AM
MBox Pro 2 - run w/ firewire only or with adapter Freis968 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-14-2007 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com