Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2006, 04:47 PM
David MacNeill David MacNeill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 52
Default Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates

So, has anyone figured out how to get this 1.01 update installed? I've tried everything in this thread with zero positive results.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2006, 03:52 AM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates

3-23-06
Not working (Updater) here on either of two G5 Dual 2.7's (PT's HD 7.1cs5)
The plug-in from the disk is working

Xpand!.dat permissions:
Owner: Read & Write
Group: Staff: Read only
Others: Read only
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2006, 09:21 AM
tombi tombi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 62
Default Re: Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates

OK, this is really weird. When I tried to update Xpand, and checked the version, I got 1.0.0.701 (see earlier post above). But without changing anything (I've been running PT and Xpand for a few days without trouble) except a few reboots the version now is 1.0.1.989. So the update did work but maybe you have to reboot for it to be effective...?

/T

G5 Dual 2 ghz, OSX 10.4.5, 1 gb RAM, PT LE 7.0, Digi 002R
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2006, 10:23 AM
bassntreble bassntreble is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 448
Default Re: Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates

OK, so I'm going to try tombi's experiment now, but i believe in spontaneous version upgrading as much as i believe in the tooth fairy. I'm willing to give it a shot though


edit....

install, get error, restart...well, still at 1.0.0.701... I'm really disappointed that digi hasn't responded or offered a solution. so I guess I will....


This is what I've done to install 1.0.1.989 in OSX, DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK!:

unzip the 1.0.1 update. you'll end up with a folder titled "Xpand! 1.0.1 updater for mac OSX"
open the folder and you'll see an installer pkg named "Xpand! 1.0.1 update" and a read me PDF.
right or control click on the package and select "Show Package contents" from the drop down menu
you'll be presented with a window containing a folder called "Contents". open the folder.
Inside you'll see a bunch of files. Look for the one called "Archive.pax.gz"
move it to your desktop and un-archive it. you'll end up with a file called "Archive.pax" and the Xpand!.dpm plugin on your desktop. If you get info on the plugin you'll see it's version 1.0.1.989. move it to your protools plugins folder. if you wish to keep the 1.0.0xxx plugin, move it out of the pt plugin folder before replacing it with 1.0.1.
Launch PT and check to see that it works. if it doesn't review the above steps.

So far I haven't encountered any incompatibilities either with old sessions using Xpand! or new instantiations.YMMV. Do this at your own risk. I'm not a coder or anything like that but I have been asked by devs on occasion to try to break their software and report the findings back to them so i know just enough...

Good luck...
__________________
G5 1.8X2/3gigRAM/Mbox/7.4 (retired)
MBP C2D 2.4/4GigRAM/Mbox/8.0.1
iMac i7 3.4/16GigRAM/10.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2006, 06:22 PM
cmaynes cmaynes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burbank,CA,USA
Posts: 715
Default Re: Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates

"...if I had a tape machine that sounded like a fatso, I'd have it repaired" - Steve Albini

that is the greatest quote ever-

charles maynes
__________________
charles maynes
sound design and recording for film and media
818 618 0580

Member IATSE Local 700, MPSE, ATAS, NRA & USMCHC.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2006, 11:40 AM
Kid Captain Coolout Kid Captain Coolout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia, United States
Posts: 5
Default Library Location?

I just got Xpand! a few days ago... can anyone tell me where to put the Xpand! Sound Library? It doesn't say where to put it in the manual...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-09-2006, 12:36 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Library Location?

The installer should put it in the proper place by default. Page 3 of the XPand! Plug-In Guide that comes with the plugin:
Quote:
By default, the Xpand! installer puts the plugin’s
content file (Xpand!.dat) in the following
location (content folder):

On Windows
Program Files\Digidesign\Xpand!

On Mac OS X
/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/ Xpand!
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates OC Cool Virtual Instruments 4 08-09-2006 01:30 PM
Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates Wolfram K Virtual Instruments 2 04-10-2006 03:54 AM
Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates formento Virtual Instruments 1 03-29-2006 08:43 AM
Xpand! v1.0 to v1.0.1 Updates bassntreble Virtual Instruments 6 03-20-2006 01:00 PM
Xpand! v1.0.1 & 1.0.3 Updates Avid Virtual Instruments 0 03-06-2006 06:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com