Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2019, 11:07 AM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 515
Default -9173 errors...

so i started getting some 9173 errors

and I tried going into Terminal and doing what it suggests here:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/T...-Errors-on-Mac

but it doesn't seem to have helped

so my question is, how do I restore the previous settings?
that seems missing from that article

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2019, 01:05 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: -9173 errors...

This error is the defining one of this particular era of ProTools. I get this constantly, and I've done all the suggested tweaks. I'll stay tuned, and wish I could be of more help.

I print mixes to an external DSD recorder, and it sometimes takes me 2 or 3 tries to get through the entire song when playing through.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2019, 01:08 PM
Mixchump Mixchump is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 356
Default Re: -9173 errors...

I should also add that I have done a complete ground-up install on a freshly formatted SSD of High Sierra (several times), and all of the applications and Plug-ins... Exact. Same. Problems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2019, 01:26 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 515
Default Re: -9173 errors...

yes


BUT... anyone have a hint how to restore those things changed in Terminal that didn't work there?
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2019, 02:57 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 515
Default Re: -9173 errors...

Weird thing about these errors is I worked all day yesterday on this track and it ran perfectly every single time.

Come back today and it won’t play more than a few bars without complaining and falling over.

SOME process must go on somewhere that causes it but damned if I can tell what.
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2019, 03:00 PM
clivvy clivvy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: philadelphia
Posts: 80
Default Re: -9173 errors...

Terminal is not going to solve this problem its been ongoing for a year or more at this point could be a Avid problem or Mac osx or 3rd party plugin!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2019, 05:58 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 727
Default Re: -9173 errors...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
Weird thing about these errors is I worked all day yesterday on this track and it ran perfectly every single time.

Come back today and it won’t play more than a few bars without complaining and falling over.

SOME process must go on somewhere that causes it but damned if I can tell what.
Did you add new plugins?
From my experience there are some plugins that could cause this annoying issue. These are kontakt 5, Spire (Reveal Sound) and Ozone. They affect the play even if no instatiated. You have to remove them from the plugin folder before starting pt
Hope this helps
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2019, 09:18 PM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 94
Default Re: -9173 errors...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
Weird thing about these errors is I worked all day yesterday on this track and it ran perfectly every single time.

Come back today and it won’t play more than a few bars without complaining and falling over.

SOME process must go on somewhere that causes it but damned if I can tell what.
Have you tried turning Turbo Boost off? I had the same problem with CPU headroom (granted, years ago) where sessions that worked previously would stop working the day aftwer. Turning off Turbo Boost made my system in general much more reliable by using only the guaranteed always-on speeds of the CPU. I still run with Turbo Boost off and these days computers are so fast I don't miss any of the Turbo at all. Might not be your issue but if you haven't tried it it's worth a shot...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-14-2019, 09:30 PM
ZEUSS ZEUSS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 589
Default Re: -9173 errors...

I actually did the terminal thing on 2 machines that always gave me the error randomly with clean up to date installs. My new 2019 MacBook Pro and my trashcan. And I haven’t seen it happen since. Knock on wood....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
10.14.6 Mac Pro 2013 (Trashcan) 6 Core 64 gigs Ram, Red Line 16, Native Thunderbolt, ProTools Ultimate 2020.5

Macbook Pro, 2019 (15,1) 32 Gigs Ram,2.3 GHz I9 8 Core ProTools Ultimate 2020.5, Apollo 8 Silver
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-14-2019, 10:49 PM
wwittman wwittman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Westchester, NY, USA
Posts: 515
Default Re: -9173 errors...

Quote:
Originally Posted by innesireinar View Post
Did you add new plugins?
From my experience there are some plugins that could cause this annoying issue. These are kontakt 5, Spire (Reveal Sound) and Ozone. They affect the play even if no instatiated. You have to remove them from the plugin folder before starting pt
Hope this helps
no, nothing new.

thanks though
__________________
William Wittman
Producer/Engineer
(Cyndi Lauper, Joan Osborne, The Fixx, The Outfield, Hooters...Kinky Boots!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
About the 9173 errors and Mac users jchan Pro Tools 2018 2 05-07-2019 05:34 PM
-9173 Errors due to Native plugins DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 12 33 05-05-2018 07:09 AM
More AAE -9173 Errors, At Wits End! Cota332 Pro Tools 12 3 04-28-2017 07:38 AM
CPU Power issues AAE -9173 errors Cryos Pro Tools 11 3 11-01-2015 03:39 AM
CPU 50-50% PT, 22% PC: Why? 9173 Errors dougdude9 Pro Tools 11 14 03-23-2015 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com