Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2017, 06:20 PM
Cota332 Cota332 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: California
Posts: 4
Default More AAE -9173 Errors, At Wits End!

I've been using ProTools 12.5.0 without a hitch for quite awhile now; probably since it came out - and its the last update I was able to download before my Annual Subscription ran out.

Out of left field, with no new additions to my computer, no new programs or anything, I can't seem to get through a single track without Error -9173!

With Zero plugins in session - save for a single click track - and only two tracks being active, this bug is truly a nuisance.

I thus turn to this community for guidance. I've a project that soon need be done, and obviously can't given the current state of PT12.5 .



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2017, 02:50 AM
RiF RiF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 494
Default Re: More AAE -9173 Errors, At Wits End!

While the issue disappeared for me with newer versions, what helped me back then was:
- Completely remove any instance of the Click II plugin. Sounds weird, but it's documented to be of massive help. Print the track to audio, if needed.
- Uninstall Avid Application Manager
- Uninstall Avid Cloud whatever thingy.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2017, 04:42 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 625
Default Re: More AAE -9173 Errors, At Wits End!

Error 9173 is a buffer underrun error. Explanation here.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buffer_underrun
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 451.48- Internal WD Black, Samsung 860, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.2.3.015 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2017, 07:38 AM
melloj melloj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: England
Posts: 202
Default Re: More AAE -9173 Errors, At Wits End!

You have exactly the same system as me, including the 2600k CPU and 16GB of ram. And the same OS version. I ran PT 12.4 for around 8 months on Windows 10. I'd upgraded from Windows 7. I was always plagued by this error but I could just about work with it at a reasonable pace. I also had problems with the Mbox 3 pro. In an effort to improve the performance of my mbox Pro I decided to try an earlier driver. And that's when my problems really began. Error 9173 was incessant and I could no longer work. Some irreparable damage had been caused somewhere and even Windows 10 updates and upgrades did not fix it.

I spent 6 weeks scouring the Internet for a cure and carried out every conceivable fix. Absolutely nothing worked, every suggested fix just bounced off like firing pellets at a tank.

In the end I had to admit defeat and I downgraded my system back to Windows 7. But wow, I've got my rig back, absolutely rock solid dude. Not only does Pro Tools run without errors but my mbox runs as it should. I recently upgraded to PT HD 12.7.1 and it runs like my system and Pro Tools HD were made for each other.

Some decisions are hard, but my advice if all else fails is for Windows 10 users with this issue is to ditch 10 and install either 8 or 7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9173 Errors due to Native plugins DJ Hellfire Pro Tools 12 33 05-05-2018 07:09 AM
Without -9173 errors fixed 12.6 is worthless Nearlymen Pro Tools 12 24 12-03-2016 10:07 PM
CPU Power issues AAE -9173 errors Cryos Pro Tools 11 3 11-01-2015 03:39 AM
CPU 50-50% PT, 22% PC: Why? 9173 Errors dougdude9 Pro Tools 11 14 03-23-2015 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com