Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:13 PM
Paolão Paolão is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 62
Default Imac 24" + Mbox 2 Pro + External HD FW 400

Hi there,

I'm on buying a new external hard drive and I just wondering if theres any chance to connect my Imac to my Mbox 2 Pro and an external drive on a Firewire 400 hub (which is splitted into two ports) since my Imac just have one Frewire 400 port.
The Imac have one Firewire 800 port but I know that FireWire 800 hard drives are still incompatible with the Mbox 2 Pro.

Thanks in advance!

Imac 24" 2.8 GHz Intel Core Duo
Mbox 2 Pro Factory
Universal Audio La 610
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2008, 11:27 PM
J FRANK J FRANK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 125
Default Re: Imac 24" + Mbox 2 Pro + External HD FW 400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paolão View Post
Hi there,

I'm on buying a new external hard drive and I just wondering if theres any chance to connect my Imac to my Mbox 2 Pro and an external drive on a Firewire 400 hub (which is splitted into two ports) since my Imac just have one Frewire 400 port.
The Imac have one Firewire 800 port but I know that FireWire 800 hard drives are still incompatible with the Mbox 2 Pro.

Thanks in advance!

Imac 24" 2.8 GHz Intel Core Duo
Mbox 2 Pro Factory
Universal Audio La 610

Yes, the fire wire cable from your Mbox goes into your hardrive, then the fire cable from your hardrive goes into your computer.
This is how I have it setup and it works flawless.

Just as a heads up when you get your Mbox it explains this very easily in the instructions

peace
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2008, 05:48 AM
Paolão Paolão is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Posts: 62
Default Re: Imac 24" + Mbox 2 Pro + External HD FW 400

Hey Frank, thanks for the help!

Take care!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2008, 07:03 AM
RTASW RTASW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 65
Default Re: Imac 24" + Mbox 2 Pro + External HD FW 400

Yep, simple as it sounds it actually took me ages to work this out. Do the whole thing in one chain and forget the FW800.
__________________
Pro Tools HD Native Thunderbolt, HD IO 8X8X8,ProTools HD 10.3.0 External 1 TB Storage, Apple Mac Mini Processor 2.6 GHz Intel Core i7 Software OS X 10.8.2
Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Pro 3 on a new iMac 27" Toto2004 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 03-22-2013 08:18 AM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 10:30 AM
IMAC 27" Mbox 2 Pro R&BProducer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-11-2010 06:30 AM
I need help with my mbox micro and new 24" IMAC MRBLUES 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-29-2009 12:37 PM
mbox with intel imac and external hardrive setup jeff sanders 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-10-2006 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com