Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2001, 04:24 PM
Yacuza Yacuza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lidingo, Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 9
Default hints

Im new to pro tools, coming from logic. Im wondering, what is the easiest method to accurately match two songs to the same tempo? in logic id figure out the source and target bpm(using the T command), take the quota and do a sample rate convert, i wanna mess as little as possible with the programs material.

Any hints or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

rgds Yac
__________________
- Kris [hst/sep/hhs]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2001, 06:21 PM
Johnny Jam Johnny Jam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 118
Default Re: hints

For tempo and pitch changes I use an awesome audiosuite plugin called Pitch 'n time. You can download a demo at www.serato.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2001, 02:46 PM
Yacuza Yacuza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lidingo, Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 9
Default Re: hints

Okay, i'll check it out. I ended up doing like this: (If anyone has a more time effective method)

I loaded up both songs on 4 tracks, aligned them so the first easily identifiable 1 was at the same position in time. I didnt use bars | beats at all, maybe there is an easier way.
Next i measured out some bars, think it was 7, and just looked at the length difference, and entered that ratio in audiosuite pitch shift with time correction off.

(Is there a more HQ way? Like logic's sample rate convert?)

After that i think had to tweak it -2 cents and it was pretty much equal tempo.

It took a while, since i had to reposition the pitched track after each pitch. (Later while i was working i learned a whole bunch of stuff, so i think there is a way to not have to realign the loop when pitching. Also i havent quite understood playlists and stuff yet. Looking into that.

rgds Yac
__________________
- Kris [hst/sep/hhs]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to stop pop-up hints? montelee Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 11-08-2018 02:04 PM
Euphonix 5-MC Mix Hints dertonmensch System 5 2 01-26-2012 09:31 AM
Any last iLok hints?? kbahjat Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 03-28-2006 07:47 AM
PT 6.4 (TDM) - Hints at something for us? rockrev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 03-26-2004 07:34 PM
Any hints for a sampler? rygar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-05-2000 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com