Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2002, 09:09 AM
CaP I.M.S CaP I.M.S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 54
Default What is wrong with my mbox?

Here is my set up:

mac g4 dual 867 mmd
512mb
120gb firewire drive (lacie d2)
mbox

Here is the problem. I recorded a complete song with7 audio trax, a few plugs, some 2aux trax and the master fader. The song was playing fine (i even bounced it to burn it on a cd), but here is the problem. when i went back to try and mix it again (I ran to the car to reference the mix and it sucked) the song will play for a few seconds then it will just lose sound. Whats funny is the meters are still bouncing up and down but i get no sound. It wont let me play the song for more than a few seconds. I am getting no error messages or anything. Any ideas?? Anyone with the same problem??? Oh yeah when this occurs the meter on the master fader freezes all the way up and just goes down as if there is no sound reaching it. HELP
__________________
M-PAK
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2002, 11:11 AM
Eddie K. wannabe Eddie K. wannabe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: LA
Posts: 407
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

2 quick guesses
1) you might have accidently written a volume automation on the masterfader. I've done that. Check the volume editor on the edit window to make sure there is no volume automation you might have written accidently.
2) Did you accidently highlight a portion of the on the top of the edit window. If you highltigh a section the top (Bars/beats/min/sec) the playback will end when it reaches that point. You may have accidently highlighted a portion of it.
__________________
PowerMac G4/1.2ghzPowerLogix
Panther OSx 10.3.4
Digi002/Protools 6.4/DVtoolkit
Certified Protools6.x Post-Production Operator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2002, 02:59 PM
CaP I.M.S CaP I.M.S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

Eddie k,

I checked and there is no automation on the fader and nothing is highlighted in the edit window. Still the same problem. The song does not cut off at any particular part. It will play for a few seconds and then cut off.
__________________
M-PAK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2002, 03:36 PM
auxsend1 auxsend1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 871
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

No error messages, the audio just cuts out?

Does the insertion line keep moving like it's supposed to?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2002, 03:50 PM
CaP I.M.S CaP I.M.S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

Insertion line keeps moving. The audio just cuts and the master fader meter goes all the way up and then stays down and the sound cuts off.
__________________
M-PAK
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2002, 09:15 PM
DesertDude DesertDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

shooting in the dark ...would this be of any help?

install the Apple Multiprocessor Fix:
http://www.digidesign.com/download/mp.html

[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
DesertDude

1.25 Alu/1.5 ram/10.3.4
PTLE 6.4-002R-Live-Reason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-18-2002, 11:20 AM
Bob11 Bob11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: England
Posts: 7
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

I can't help but have similar problem.
Even a simple bounce refuses to have volume . --
Imported into quick time or burnt to cd. The file has weight ie there's something there for the cd to play but no sound. When importing same file back in there's just a flat line??

This may be just that i'm a newbee with MBox et al. But will be watching this topic with interest

Bob [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]
__________________
Thermal Runaway.................... G5 where are you going...............

......... Echo...ing........ I died on Arrival...I'm going back to Jobs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-18-2002, 04:08 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,647
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

Assuming there is no automation causing the problem. Make sure you're running the latest Mbox firmware and the 1.01 USB driver.

Available here:

http://www.digidesign.com/download/mbox.html

regards,
mike
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-18-2002, 08:57 PM
CaP I.M.S CaP I.M.S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bronx NY
Posts: 54
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

Yes bob,

Same deal. Cant even bounce. I beleive i have the lastest firmware. I hope this isn't a big issue. This was my first session with the mbox and my new mac. Bob which mac do you have??/
__________________
M-PAK
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2002, 09:18 PM
lcouri lcouri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 368
Default Re: What is wrong with my mbox?

it seems to me that this problem is solely answerable by digitechsupt. No one else. So reply back and resolve his issue digitechsupt.

that way, we all win.
__________________
002R; G4 Powerbook 1.5Ghz 1GB RAM OSX 10.3.4
Firewire 800 external drive
001; G4 533 1GB RAM OSX 10.2.8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which is wrong: MBox 2 Mini, Speakers or something else? Andymitt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-02-2013 09:24 PM
WTF is wrong with my Mbox Mini? pSeudoCyst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-28-2010 11:07 AM
mbox firmware installation gone wrong... help!!! markoman15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-21-2008 01:44 AM
Im new and I don't know whats wrong (mbox mini) dougjones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-14-2007 04:39 PM
Is My MBOX broke or am I doing something wrong mezmoriz2001 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-10-2006 11:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com