Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2011, 01:38 PM
JesterMcDuff JesterMcDuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Guitar audio cutting out during playback of a track (Pro Tools LE8)

Hey guys, relatively new Pro Tools user here so apologies for the potentially silly question (although an easy solution would be amazing).

I'm using Pro Tools LE 8 through an MBox Mini and have encountered a weird problem while playing back and recording multiple tracks. For example, I'll record a guitar part in one track then I'll open a new track to enable me to jam over the top of what I've just recorded - but in doing so, I won't be able to hear what I'm playing over the first recording. The only method I've found to combat this problem so far is to actually record a take on the track I'm using; once it's recording I can play along, hearing myself aswell as the other track playing back. The thing is though, I don't really want to have to record every time I want to jam along to a song I'm writing.

Another thing I've encountered, which could be a related problem, is that when I create a track for guitar - I can't hear anything played through it until the track is primed for recording. I'm 99% sure that doesn't have to be the case, so is it a case of me just setting up the equipment wrong?

For the record, I've got my guitar plugged into port 2 of the Mbox and then into my guitar amp. In Pro Tools I open a new audio track and set it to input from port 2 and then play away... Am I making a "newbie" mistake and not setting it up properly?

Thanks in advance for any help guys and girls.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2011, 05:16 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 519
Default Re: Guitar audio cutting out during playback of a track (Pro Tools LE8)

Record first track. Disarm record on that track.
Create second track. Enable record. Opt+K will toggle Auto Input/Input Only Monitoring. The indicator is a green "LED" on the Transport.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2011, 10:27 AM
JesterMcDuff JesterMcDuff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Re: Guitar audio cutting out during playback of a track (Pro Tools LE8)

...and it's a simple as that.

Thanks a lot buddy, much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't hear my guitar in audio track kidcruz Third Party Interfaces 2 07-29-2013 09:34 PM
Cutting out the background of a pre-recorded audio track nmitchell076 Pro Tools 10 2 12-10-2011 04:17 PM
Pro Tools is cutting my audio. naveia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-19-2006 03:45 PM
Cutting track using audio scrub Peter Groom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-04-2006 02:44 AM
FX cutting out during playback Dr. J Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 11-03-2000 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com