Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-1999, 02:10 PM
lucian lucian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 228
Default Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

Hi ,
Please HELP ! I need all the help I can get with this. I've got the PT24MIX+ got a K2500XS got the D8B,got some other electronics drums.I will work with some vide in the future .NO editing ,just playing .Sometime I use a DAT or ADAT to move or store audio.....I need a midi interface to conect all this .
I did not know if to get the Opcode 64 xtc or the Motu time piece AV.

I decided to get the OPCODE 64XTC .I did not have the oportunity to make a full use of it .I run on the firs t day in to some problems with it .
I try to call tech sup. ......uaaaaa

IT SUCKS! Today is the second week and nobody return calls. I e-mail, I call, I fax....NOTHING!
If you try to call anything ,you will get just answering machines. No tech supp,no costumer service , no presales , no nothing.
I am getting so tired of this people.I don't know how they stay in bussiness?
Should I keep this unit or return it and get the MOTU midi time piece AV?
Is it the MOTU more superior qualtity or does it do more than Opcode? This is why I need your help .I don't know to many people that use any of this midi interfaces.
Any previous experiences?
THANK YOU !
You can call me also .And I will call you back>
512 869 8032
lucian

[This message has been edited by lucian (edited 10-07-99).]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-1999, 03:44 PM
Nerdly Nerdly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Des Plaines IL. 60016
Posts: 5
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

Lucian
Did you try using 64xtc as your main wordclock source ?
I have a similer set up but have an O2R.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-1999, 05:12 PM
imported_yes imported_yes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sherman Oaks,CA. U.S.A
Posts: 423
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

Hi Lucian, The 64XTC is a very versital unit.There is a direct number to Opcode's Tech Support. I don't know it right now because I'm on the road. It should be in your manual. Best try them early in the morning to get thru. They open their phone lines up @ 9:00 A.M. PST. Their tech support is great and has help me thru a quite a few hellish and stressful problems. Cheers!
__________________
yes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-1999, 05:32 PM
Tom Pollock Tom Pollock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Lopez Island WA USA
Posts: 56
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

Me as well. I slave EVERYTHING to the 64xtc, including the PT interface. Superclock Out from the xtc to Clock In on my 888|24. It works great.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-1999, 07:02 PM
lucian lucian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 228
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

Thank you for the encuragement!

I did try to call :
650/429-2349
650/429-2400

I thought that only Event Electronics is the worst one (if you can get their attention you will get the best service) .
But Opcode is liding now with almost 50 calls a week , 4 emails , 2 fax ...and still nothing.
No costumer support , no presales ,no dealer sales no nothing .
This is why I am disperate to maybe find other alternative ,and I don't know if to get the MOTU will only make the situation worst.
I do not have any problems with my system now ,but I will like to have a place where to call(at least when the unit is still in the warranty).
I can not imagine what it will happen if the waranty will expire and the unit brake .I am gonna need to drive there and kik somebody's
(...) until the unit get repaired.
They will not answer the phone to get an RMA .So if you don't have an RMA how can you return the item for repair or whatever. So this is why I am MAD.
If you just got the Protools system or any item, and call for help and the only thing you get is the answering machine ,how that fills .....uaaaaa

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-1999, 06:50 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

The Opcode tech support line is pissing me off too. They used to be so good.

I've been using the XTC as the master clock on my PT III sys, but now with my Mix system it doesn't work at all. Crackles and pops. So I disconnected the superclock from it and everything works fine. I still use it for ADAT transfer and MIDI-- works great. The digital clock seemed to go bad though.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-1999, 08:44 PM
2 bit 2 bit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Midland Park NJ
Posts: 57
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

I heard at the local music store that Opcode is finished.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-08-1999, 10:51 PM
ppine ppine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chandler AZ, USA
Posts: 664
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

Yeah, that's the rumour thats been floating around...their sudden lack of response seems to support it...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-08-1999, 11:59 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

I haven't recently dealt with Opcode, but have been running SVPro for years. Haven't tried to contact them since Gibson bought them.
I get a users digest from opcode-users@topica.com if thats any help.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-09-1999, 01:18 AM
Mark Wheaton Mark Wheaton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 938
Default Re: Opcode...is killing me! HElp !

I have a similar problem with the Opcode 64 XTC superclock outputting bad clock to 888. this causes problems digitally transfering to a DAT and spews white noise out of 888 when
DA88 goes into shuttle, fast forward or reverse. Unfortunately, Opcode is having something going on over there which is why tech response is bad. Lotsa rumors on Opcode user lists, but no real info from anyone official.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me !!!! opcode 64X with win XP chuotnhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-01-2002 01:18 AM
Opcode 64X Connection Voideco 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-03-2002 09:55 AM
Opcode 64X thornlab MIDI 1 05-20-2002 04:55 PM
Opcode 64x Cannon Sound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-02-2000 02:21 PM
OPCODE (RIP) tnie Tips & Tricks 1 11-03-1999 06:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com