Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2017, 07:59 AM
psklpt psklpt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Morocco
Posts: 3
Default Digi 003 Blown fuse replacement (URGENT)

Hi everyone,

Yesterday there were power surges at my home and some of my equipments fuses have blown, including the Digi 003 (Rack).

But while my other machines have "regular fuses", it seems that the Digi 003 has another type of fuse (BLUE in pictures), and it reads infinite ohm.

But it seems that it's not the only component that blew : next to it the inductor (RED) leg has split and another component ( ORANGE - looks like a capacitor but the sign underneath it is not "l l" but "N") seems to have blown spreading black residue.

It looks like an EMI Filter combination. I live in Morocco so there is nowhere i can repair it. I have tried to bypass the fuse with a regular fuse holder & fuse (also bypassing the blown Inductor & mystery component) but the new fuse exploded !!......
Btw where can i find a schematic for the Digi 003? It would really help

This is really urgent as i was beginning a recording today and i can't tell you how much desperate i am....

Any help would be literally life saving

Thanks you so much
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	8474   Click image for larger version

Name:	FullSizeRender (1).jpg
Views:	0
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	8475   Click image for larger version

Name:	Digi 3.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	8476  

Last edited by psklpt; 05-08-2017 at 08:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2017, 08:17 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,468
Default Re: Digi 003 Blown fuse replacement (URGENT)

Your best option is to buy another 003. I suspect you will receive that long before fixing the old one(assuming you don't have schematics, easy parts availability and lots of experience with circuitry). Search eBay for a seller that is willing to ship to you
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control 24 completely dead - fuse blown? A Chapman ICON & C|24 11 06-30-2015 04:13 AM
Blown Fuse Digi 002 Power supply liamMo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-08-2013 09:51 AM
Aurora Gone, Replacement for Fuse X Video Cards? Irl Sanders Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-24-2007 03:31 AM
BLOWN FUSE!!!!!!! Rtpas11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-02-2006 05:45 PM
OT: Fuse Replacement j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-26-2003 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com