Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 02-27-2001, 11:24 AM
Jim Clark

Default I am so bummed about 5.1

because I can't use it. I am a Pro Tools III TDM user and I feel like I am now on the sidelines, because 5.1 won't work with my hardware.
I just had to vent.
Thank you.

Regards,

Jim Clark
Media Music
Old 02-28-2001, 07:49 PM

Default Re: I am so bummed about 5.1

haha

...sorry
Old 03-04-2001, 11:51 AM

who laughs last laughs best mr.blake ,
i am on your side jim , and i am starting kinda wondering , too why digidesigns acting like they do ??? without people like us digidesign would have never become what they are ... but sometimes people forget to fast ...
Old 03-04-2001, 02:05 PM

It really is too bad. I think that Digi is able to write better software if they don't have to think about legacy systems.Unfortunately, there a lot of users out there with older systems.

I doubt they would do it, but they really should come up with a better upgrade plan. In other words a more fair upgrade plan. Digi acts like it's so great that they offer these hardware upgrades. Here is a quote from the upgrade page:

"Our commitment to upgradability provides one of the truly unique benefits of a Digidesign system. Digidesign offers hardware exchanges for two reasons: to help our longtime users get the newest system at a reduced cost, and to allow users to expand the capabilities of their DAW as their needs change."

But then look at their prices: $7995 for a Mix plus system if you trade in your PT3 hardware and one DSP card. You can get a MixPlus system for the same price or even less at many retailers. Why would anyone trade in their hardware?