Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-11-2013, 10:38 AM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Pro Tools 7.4.2...Identify Beat Moves Memory Location Markers

I seem to have an annoying issue. I have a song that was not recorded to a click track. I have manually tempo mapped the song; dropping a marker at the downbeat of every measure. I then try to identify the beat to tell PT the start of bar one, beat one, etc. As soon as I execute the identify beat command, all of the markers for the subsequent measures shift to the left. How do I identify beat for each measure without the markers moving?

The Kid
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-2013, 11:05 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.4.2...Identify Beat Moves Memory Location Markers

For that to work you need to set the Time Properties Reference for each marker to Absolute. The default is Bar|Beat.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2013, 11:44 AM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.4.2...Identify Beat Moves Memory Location Markers

Thanks for the quick reply Stig. I thought I had that enabled, however I am not currently at my home studio computer to verify that. If it turns out that I have the Time Properties set to bar/beat, is it a global setting to change it to absolute (sorry for the newbie question)?

The Kid
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2013, 12:09 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.4.2...Identify Beat Moves Memory Location Markers

If there are, I'm not aware of it.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-19-2013, 02:08 PM
Analog Kid Analog Kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 136
Default Re: Pro Tools 7.4.2...Identify Beat Moves Memory Location Markers

Thanks Stig. That is exactly what it was.

The Kid
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory Location/Markers vinlance Pro Tools 10 6 06-22-2013 05:09 AM
Tempo mapping Beat Detective or identify beat? grateful 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-14-2012 09:13 PM
Moving Memory Location Markers with Regions? Dabeed Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 01-03-2009 06:15 PM
Pro Tools crashes when creating a memory location 14choirs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-12-2007 11:08 PM
Can memory location markers move with midi edits? Jepse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-27-2005 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com