Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2010, 01:33 PM
danackerman danackerman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default What should I replace my original Mbox with?

I was looking to snag that latest PTLE update, but found my poor old Mbox was no longer supported. Which Mbox 2 model should I upgrade to?

The standard MB2 seems the most similar, but if I usually only record one instrument at a time, can I get away with the Mini? Would I see (hear?) a big difference with the Pro?

Any thoughts/opinions greatly appreciated!

A couple of notes:
Because of my job (reviewing laptops), I'm always installing on new systems. Currently, I'm using a 64-bit Vista laptop, which actually works pretty well, with 8.0.1 (except for some H/W buffer errors).

I used my current Mbox (and PTLE with Reason rewired into it) to record my most recent album (curently #68 on Amazon's "Funk Rock" category, even though I'd call it Jazz Rock...)
http://www.amazon.com/Tales-Out-of-N...dp/B001I2V8I2/

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2010, 03:27 PM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Wink Re: What should I replace my original Mbox with?

You're probably not going to 'hear' a difference between any of the MBoxes. Technique and mic placement is probably more important on an LE system. But I would still go with an 003, which in time, as your studio grows can give you 18 inputs rather easily without having to purchase another Digi box again. YOU CAN ALWAYS USE MORE INPUTS!

I'm not trying to start a discussion about hearing a difference, yes, the 003 does have better pre's and converters.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2010, 03:38 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,631
Default Re: What should I replace my original Mbox with?

Or even do a little E-bay or Craigslist browsing...had a friend nab an 002 for $350. Which by the way, is now in MY facility 'cause he discovered he didn't have enough room, and swapped my for my 002 RACK. Just saying, do a little shopping, and second what RQ says. Better to have too many inputs (Is there such a thing as too manY??) than too few. Welcome to Gear Acquisition Syndrome!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can mbox 2 replace mbox micro? angelo panetta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 01-06-2010 12:18 PM
New Mbox 2 Pro 7.4 install - dead - 7.1 was fine with original Mbox - HELP! gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-25-2008 06:18 PM
Does Mbox replace soundcard? oldprof General Discussion 3 02-13-2007 11:33 PM
Possible to replace the Mbox with other interface? Robert Mattsson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 10-06-2005 12:14 PM
Mbox & Tibook to replace AM3?? John J. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 05-12-2002 12:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com