Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2009, 04:13 AM
New003r New003r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default 003r and wordclock

I have a new 003r and am wondering if an external wordclock will help my sound quality/preamps/converters...I have no other digital external equip...how can I improve my inputs besides adding a better clock...I have a twin- finity and a 'brick" for pres..I'm asking this because I've read on the DUC that my stock stuff on the rack could be better for sound quality...any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2009, 07:48 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,163
Default Re: 003r and wordclock

Word clock has no function without other digital pieces, so don't worry about it for now. Patch your external preamps into inputs 5 thru 8 and set the level switch on the back to the +4 position.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-13-2009, 08:51 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,686
Default Re: 003r and wordclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by New003r View Post
I have a new 003r...any suggestions?
http://www.blacklionaudio.com/Modifications/Digi+003R
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-13-2009, 11:34 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,061
Default Re: 003r and wordclock

albee is correct, if you are not running external converters the internal clock is fine. He is suggesting inputs 5-8 because you will avoid using the preamps built into the Digi piece. No good reason to do this job twice under normal circumstances. There are a lot of ways to improve the audio path, better pre-amps, better converters, good outboard compression Etc... And of course money.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wordclock - 003R Master / Profire Slave - Syncing Issues blizzard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-18-2007 05:23 PM
003 Wordclock Fansplastic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-25-2007 03:23 PM
Do I need a wordclock? pkcraft 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-19-2003 04:56 PM
A/D or WORDCLOCK.....which to buy first? Rob Aubrey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 08-22-2003 08:05 AM
Wordclock? underground 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 08-04-2003 12:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com