Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2009, 10:14 PM
AURORA4DTH AURORA4DTH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 200
Default Commit to elastic audio questions

Have any of you guys had any issues when using the commit to audio function?
Basically I have been having two issues. First let me say I have a tendency to cut alot in elastic audio tracks and drag them around with the trimmer tool, i know this isnt the best method perhaps but I work fastest this way.
Anyway sometimes when committing When a the task manager has finished doing its thing
1. I get random Static noises in my tracks. Very very loud Static noises. They appear very randomly and not very often but they do happen.
2. I get files that never return they just basically stay light blue and missing the region. I then have to drag back from one the regions that are in tact and re do the elastic stuff.

Anyone have any issues like this? Any info is appreciated.
__________________
www.nightskystudios.org
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-24-2009, 09:18 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,658
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

The way you're working is not the way it's intended - you should do all edits and commit them (fades, trims, etc.) before doing any elastic audio, or you should commit your elastic audio, THEN do the edits, fades, etc.

If you have fades on an elastic audio track and commit it, there's likely to be glitches, as you're seeing. Look up 'micro-fades' in the PT Reference Guide (I think it's page 597) as it goes into more detail about this.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-24-2009, 03:39 PM
AURORA4DTH AURORA4DTH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 200
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

Thanx for the info!
__________________
www.nightskystudios.org
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2009, 08:00 PM
gdugan gdugan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Utica, New York, US
Posts: 344
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

So to avoid these "pops" that are described (on page 794), what is the best workflow? On an elastic audio track, after "warping" the audio, and mixing and crossfading elastic audio and non-elastic audio regions, should one:

1. Disable the elastic audio plug in.

OR

2. "Render" the elastic audio.

OR

3. Consolidate the regions.

OR

4. Some combination of the above.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2009, 09:14 PM
peppertree peppertree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,610
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
The way you're working is not the way it's intended - you should do all edits and commit them (fades, trims, etc.) before doing any elastic audio, or you should commit your elastic audio, THEN do the edits, fades, etc.

If you have fades on an elastic audio track and commit it, there's likely to be glitches, as you're seeing. Look up 'micro-fades' in the PT Reference Guide (I think it's page 597) as it goes into more detail about this.
Sounds like YOU guys are doing it wrong. Editing should be ad-hoc and if elastic audio can't deal with the traditional editing tools then you have more work to do.

__________________
`My name is Pro Tools HD, King of Kings:
Look on my works, ye mighty, and despair!'
Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare,
The lone and native DAWs stretch far away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2009, 09:40 PM
TCDet TCDet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Detroit
Posts: 903
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

For me it's:
3. Consolidate the regions.

Just try it see if it works for your material.
It's quick, decisive and when you turn off ea there's no further rendering.
Also for EA-Pitch this allows you to continue with greater than octave changes.

TC

PS. I also sometimes have blank non ea tracks to just drag n drop onto. This also renders out the regions.

I also generally work in tick-mode. Seems smoother.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:12 AM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

If all else fails, print to new tracks. What you hear is what you'll get. It's foolproof.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:17 AM
danander11 danander11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 4,013
Default Re: Commit to elastic audio questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny Gioia View Post
If all else fails, print to new tracks. What you hear is what you'll get. It's foolproof.

+1 for this method.

Peace!
__________________
Here I am,
after time not long...
and thankful for the break,
What I found when I got there,
was that I couldn't stay away!

Hobo Shave!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are Elastic Audio edits reverting after choosing to commit? StinkyStan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 12-01-2015 03:51 PM
strange message when trying to commit to an elastic audio track gibsy General Discussion 2 12-19-2013 03:07 AM
Quick elastic time question (regarding disbale / commit / Consolidate) AURORA4DTH Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 10-10-2013 06:01 PM
Region TICK problem... not there in elastic mode but appears after "commit" ? kirkbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-04-2009 01:02 PM
Elastic Audio commit/render shift... steve.mastr Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 09-22-2008 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com