Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2005, 08:39 AM
detroitkruk detroitkruk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 163
Default DIGI, PLEASE READ...

first my apologies and appreciation to everyone who's posted and helped with the recent meter/tempo problems i've been having...here's the bottom line:

DIGIDESIGN TECHNICIAN(S):

The note value of a meter setting (3/4 or 6/8) SHOULD HAVE NO BEARING WHATSOEVER ON THE TEMPO OF A SESSION...

If you open a new session...set your tempo to 100 bpm...then set your meter to 6/8... THE TEMPO IN THE SEESION AND ALL CORRESPONDING READOUTS (DELAY PLUG-IN, REASON, ETC.) DOUBLES!!!...

this is not right...no way...absolutely unacceptable...

now...if you set it to 3/4...tempo stays exactly where you would expect it to...the problem is, the long-measure 'swing' of a 6/8 feel is not the same as the tighter, more circular feel of 3/4...in notation, performance, in all practicality 3/4 is not 6/8...

WHY IS THE TEMPO CODED TO CHANGE WITH THE NOTE VALUE OF THE METER?...

i beg you, please let me know...I KNOW I'LL ONLY GET ONE CHANCE AT A POST FROM YOU SO IF THERE'S ANYTHING ELSE THAT NEEDS EXPLAINING, PLEASE LET ME KNOW...

THIS MUST CHANGE...IT IS NOT RIGHT...VERY FRUSTRATING...

detroitkruk
__________________
The Used Stars
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2005, 09:30 AM
Ozzie Ozzie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 318
Default Re: DIGI, PLEASE READ...

I see what you mean and agree that it should be changed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2005, 09:35 AM
JFK StudioDude JFK StudioDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 66
Default Re: DIGI, PLEASE READ...

Going through the same problem myself right now. I wished they would change it as well.

JFK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2005, 10:43 AM
dubaifox dubaifox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dubai U.A.E.
Posts: 1,243
Default Re: DIGI, PLEASE READ...

I had the same problem, when a 6/8 session I created in PT was opened in Digital Performer. Everything was twice as fast, and all of my tempo changes (extensive) were lost. Had to manually change all of the events. Took about 30 minutes in this case.

Really a pain!!
__________________
International Award Winning Arabic Fusion
www.ajmusiconline.com
---------------
2xMacPro 2.66,002r,OSX 10.4.10,PT 7.4cs8
3xVisionDaw,NI Komplete,Yamaha 01V/96
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2005, 10:58 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,656
Default Re: DIGI, PLEASE READ...

Thanks for the report on this - we will be looking into is as soon as possible.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:18 PM
detroitkruk detroitkruk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 163
Default Re: DIGI, PLEASE READ...

thank you so much...honestly thank you very very much...

i'm sorry for my repeated posts leading up to this but i finally narrowed it down to the note value of the meter...

PLEASE KEEP US POSTED... I HOPE THIS MAKES THE NEXT CS UPDATE ...it is a workflow nightmare...

thank you for this forum...
detroitkruk
__________________
The Used Stars
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 11 won't read Digi 003 craigrmurray Pro Tools 11 3 12-15-2013 11:25 AM
DIGI? please read this WStudioB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-22-2004 04:43 PM
ATTN DIGI: Please- all DUC'ers and Digi read nikki-k 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 73 03-12-2004 03:09 PM
Can't get OMS to read Digi 001? dddxdave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-24-2002 09:01 AM
FOR DIGI READ!!! dreeam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-25-2002 11:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com