Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:40 PM
zunam666 zunam666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 27
Default Midi Timing Syn problems

Hello,

I have a question about Midi set up and timing. And forgive my ignorance.

I want to optimize my current set up. I realize this is an ongoing issue with many systems. I am getting pretty bad midi timing problems when I record my midi tracks to audio tracks. There are tons of beats that are off after I record the audio.

I write my parts in Pro Tools which feeds Giga Studio on a seperate PC. When I’m done writing, I record the output of the Giga (PC/Delta 1010) into Pro Tools. I check the notes in Grid Mode and most of the notes are slightly late in varying degrees. I can move the whole track at one point but then the rest (because of the variations) are all off (some ahead, some behind).

I’m fairly new to Midi timing protocols. I do not have any kind of sync set up between my Pro Tools rig and my samplers. Should I set up Word Clock or some other kind of sync to eliminate most of these issues? And how would I do it?

Pro Tools 6.1
HD 3
(1) 96 I/O
Mac G4 867 (700MB RAM)
OSX 10.20.46
Recording @ 96Khz

Midiman 2x2 Midi Interface

GigaStudio 96 v2.2
PC Pent 3 1 Ghz
Delta 1010 (Midi in, Audio out @ 48Khz)

Any tips are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Zunam
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:45 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Midi Timing Syn problems

Try using a MIDI I/O which adds MTS (you'd have to upgrade your Pro Tools software to 6.7 I believe for MTS).

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:56 PM
JFK StudioDude JFK StudioDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 66
Default Re: Midi Timing Syn problems

What about using soft synths like stylus, etc? Will MTS help cure that issue too?

JFK
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:42 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: Midi Timing Syn problems

You've got MIDI jitter. Midi isn't consistent because it isn't sample accurate. Your midi will be delayed.

You'll have to record about 2-4 measures of a beat, place the recorded audio under the midi track, then zoom way in to see how many samples off they each are. They won't be consistent either. Average the delay and go into your midi options and you can "scoot" your midi information backwards by that many samples (the average delay in milliseconds). Then when you send your midi info through and back into recording into Pro Tools, it should be a lot more precise.

It sounds like that's what you've done already. I don't know about the midi i/o, but I do know that Reason uses Digi's sample accuracy and there's no delay. As far as I know, only the click plug-in that comes with Pro Tools is "sample accurate" and you'll never get midi jitter on that. That's the extent to my midi knowledge, sorry I couldn't help much more.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:04 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Midi Timing Syn problems

I'm also under the impression that the sync problem is less in Reason and huge in forinstance Kontakt 2... How does one reduce this problem? Which player has the least problem with this issue? Will it get less if you have a separate HD for your Libraries?

Reason
Trilogy
Kontakt 2
Kompakt
Yellow Tools
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2005, 09:51 AM
zunam666 zunam666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 27
Default Re: Midi Timing Syn problems

Thanks everyone, for the tips. I can deal with the midi timing being slightly late, but when they are all late in varying degrees, it's impossible to get them to line up except by checking and moving them individually which is a nightmare. But I'll look into these ideas. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2005, 10:40 PM
GW GW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,709
Default Re: Midi Timing Syn problems

When you go to MIDI and Midi Beat Clock and if you have a track with Kontakt2 or Trilogy on it you can choose Enable Kontakt2/Trilogy... Then you go to SETUPS and Peripherals and Midi Machine Control (MMC) and enable and choose Kontakt 2... When you later on reopen the session these settings wont be recognized - why?

Is this a possible remmedy for the synch problems I've had in Kontakt 2?
__________________
PT 12.4.0, iMac 27" Retina 4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, PoCo x8,
Digi002 Fact., Logic X|FCPX|Motion
Plugins: Waves Diam. V9|Artist Sign Ser.|SSL|GTR3.5, TC MD3|Harm4|VSS3|DVR2|Nonlin|Unwrap, Sonnox Infl|Dyn, Autotune
VI: Reason 8, Ivory It., Trilian|Omnisphere, VG2/RealGuitar, Kontakt6|GPO, Goliath|Gypsy|Fab Four, Candy, Structure, EZdrum, BIAB Audiophile
Hardware: TLM49|TLM103, SPL Track One, TC M-One, Artist Contr.v2|Transp|3xMix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Timing PT 7.4 LE - Anyone having problems? Donkey Kong 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 117 10-08-2008 06:03 PM
MIDI Timing PT 7.4 LE - Anyone having problems? cheekypaul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-24-2008 08:08 PM
7.4 midi timing problems lifer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 11-23-2007 06:18 AM
MIDI Timing problems with PT7.3 ?? humbuzz MIDI 1 05-15-2007 10:53 PM
MIDI Timing Problems e-rase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-16-2006 07:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com