Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2019, 01:01 PM
clister01 clister01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Default Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

iMac Pro (2017)
3GHz Intel Xeon W
32GB RAM

HDX(2)
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6

macOS High Sierra 10.13.3

Just wondering if anybody has come across a similar issue to this... I've got a mix session with a bunch of plugins on it (mostly 3rd party, some avid) all set as native. Recorded the mix down fine...

Now, when I open the session (original or duplicate) a slew of plugins will be inactive across the session. Bunch of stuff on my stereo buss, some random compressors, verbs, etc... they are definitely supposed to be active (all plugins on the master buss aux for example) but are not. I've tried importing into a new session, still get the same issue... making new instances of the plugins with the same settings on new tracks (not just copying the plugin down)... still running into the same problem.

The weird thing is, I can just go throw and make them all active and the session plays fine...

Any ideas?

Cameron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-12-2019, 02:43 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,188
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by clister01 View Post
macOS High Sierra 10.13.3
I don't know if this is the cause but bring your macOS up to 10.13.6.
10.13.3 is technically supported.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2019, 07:58 AM
coleeddy coleeddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 14
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

This has happened to me before with my Slate plugins twice. The first time all it was was that my card wasnt on auto payments so it didnt take out the monthly payment for slate. And the second time after I turned my computer off for the night and turned it on the next morning, I opened Pro Tools and it said my Waves plug ins was not activated so I went to the iLok License Manager and just click activate and it all started working. Try that. When I first bought the Slate subscription for the plug ins I literally had to delete and redownload all the plug ins like 3 times because iLok wouldnt recognize that I have bought them. I hope you get it all figured out so you can get back to work!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2020, 12:54 PM
gsguitarest gsguitarest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Were you able to find a solution to this? I'm having the same issue. I just upgraded to PT 2019.12 from PT 12, and now when I open a session some random plugins are inactive. There's no consistency to it, on one track all the plugins are inactive, and the next track the plugs are active, and they're the same plugins....

I have to open the session on a different computer to find out what plugins are supposed to be active, and its a HUGE pain. I've trashed all my prefs, restarted, etc.

Any support from AVID on this?!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2020, 03:00 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,204
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Could it be a touchy Shift key? Its a very rare occurrence here
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2020, 10:44 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,728
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

I am running into this same issue as well. Pro Tools 2019.12.0.

This happened to me on 2019.6 as well. It only seems to happen to me in 96k sessions. It seems to primarily happen on Auxillary tracks for me and the plug-ins that seem to be possibly having the issues are Echoboy, RVerb, TL Space and even D-Verb. I've been troubleshooting over and over again and every time I reopen the session several plug-ins are inactive that were not inactive before. I can not figure out what is causing it.

Like the original post says, it happens on only some of the plug-ins, neighboring busses that have the same plug-ins on them will load just fine. You can simply make them active again and they work.

Very scary and irritating as I keep forgetting to make them active again and I've made bounces with some of the plug-ins inactive to send to be mastered and realized after the mixes are sent.

I'm on Mac OS 10.12.6 Mac Pro Mid 2012, 3.2 GHz Quad Core with 32 GB of RAM. Pro Tools HDX1
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio

Last edited by Dizzi45Z; 02-24-2020 at 11:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-25-2020, 02:48 PM
frabo frabo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 42
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Yes, I had this as well today, very scary ...

-> PT 12.19
osx 10.15.3

Is there a way to activate all plug ins in the session at once ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-25-2020, 02:59 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,407
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
I am running into this same issue as well. Pro Tools 2019.12 (...) I'm on Mac OS 10.12.6
Sierra is not supported any longer with 2019.12
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:00 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,407
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Quote:
Originally Posted by frabo View Post
PT 12.19
osx 10.15.3
10.15.3 is not yet supported, wait for 2020.x
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2020, 03:00 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 18,407
Default Re: Plugins Randomly Inactive Upon Opening of Session

Compatibility info here. Guys, please bookmark this.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crashes when opening Session containing Plugins Meads 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 01-21-2011 05:56 PM
Making Inserts Inactive on Session opening Sebopath 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-09-2006 10:26 AM
Opening session causes plugins to not work? s0nguy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 08-10-2004 04:06 PM
Plugins off when re-opening a session? marcelloz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 06-12-2001 01:34 PM
All MIDI is inactive when opening a session, until i open OMS Studio Setup and...... Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-03-2001 12:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com