Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-21-2011, 04:50 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Re: Display timecode in a quicktime video

there's always this cheeky chappie punchlight usb

which I am considering, as the media composer render time is boring me. I just worry about usb extenders, they always seem so flakey.....

cheers
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-21-2011, 05:54 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Display timecode in a quicktime video

Quote:
a box wherein a speaker stands and delivers.
I think you're right again, for jeezy cripes sake.

Video burn-in is best, as long as render time is allowed for. A Punchlight display when masquerading as a controller (HUI) will show whatever time the main counter shows, which is handy when burn-in is not possible. But, if he has some other MIDI controller (like a surround stick or control surface) Punchlight will have to be used as a dumb MTC display, which means it will only show position during realtime play/record. Scrubbing or clicking on the timeline does not update MTC.

I have the previous generation of Punchlight Universal Studio display. It works well but I don't like it much. The boxy digits and colons are all equally spaced and not particularly readable at a glance. The newer models appear to have the exact same layout.

As usual, the choice comes to time, cost, convenience.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-21-2011, 09:42 AM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,810
Default Re: Display timecode in a quicktime video

Quote:
a box wherein a speaker stands and delivers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postman View Post
I think you're right again, for jeezy cripes sake
Cheese 'n rice! I have been famously wrong plenty of times. It's amazing I know how to find my way home.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-24-2011, 02:04 PM
Magnetic Magnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Columbus Ohio USA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Display timecode in a quicktime video

If you have a Sync IO, you can loop the announce booth video feed thru the Sync IO and ProTools will supply the window burn....
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-25-2011, 03:39 AM
thierryd thierryd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Brussels
Posts: 502
Default Re: Display timecode in a quicktime video

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnetic View Post
If you have a Sync IO, you can loop the announce booth video feed thru the Sync IO and ProTools will supply the window burn....
That is, if you're running analog video...
With SDI or HDMI connection, this solution doesn't work anymore.

Greetings,

Thierry
__________________
http://www.a-sound.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick TimeCode display Question requiem Post - Surround - Video 4 09-04-2012 07:43 AM
TimeCode to camera + TimeCode-led display with digi003 Fingerflipz Post - Surround - Video 7 03-18-2010 02:07 PM
Display timecode counter via "video out Firewire" SonicPete Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-06-2009 11:21 AM
Quicktime movie on a second Video display sebamars Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 07-11-2005 05:20 AM
timecode display?? whooya 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-27-1999 07:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com