Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-06-2009, 02:59 PM
Johnny2Laps Johnny2Laps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 139
Default Delivering Radio Spots

Nothing to do with ProTools, but I thought I'd run this by the DUC, as most of you seem to know what you are doing .

I haven't done any radio spots in quite a while, but hope to be doing some soon and wanted to ask what you all typically deliver with respect to mix level and file format. I think last time I mixed to my normal (for TV) level and then gave it a little boost before making mp3's. Do radio stations want/expect everything to be slammed up to 0 like a music CD? Any other advice? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-07-2009, 12:37 AM
tj_davies tj_davies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,219
Default Re: Delivering Radio Spots

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny2Laps View Post
Nothing to do with ProTools, but I thought I'd run this by the DUC, as most of you seem to know what you are doing .

I haven't done any radio spots in quite a while, but hope to be doing some soon and wanted to ask what you all typically deliver with respect to mix level and file format. I think last time I mixed to my normal (for TV) level and then gave it a little boost before making mp3's. Do radio stations want/expect everything to be slammed up to 0 like a music CD? Any other advice? Thanks.
Here in Germany it's the same specs as for TV: -9dBFs
File format in general is mp3 - we've had a few stations requiring mp4, but that is long time ago and a pain as well.

Hope it helps,
Timothy
__________________
G5 10.8.5
PT 10.3.9 HD2
www.pearls-music.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-07-2009, 02:18 AM
lode lode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 588
Default Re: Delivering Radio Spots

Last time I delivered radiospots the stations actually normalized the spots! Kind of scary thought.
__________________
PT 10.3 & 11
Mac 2x2.26 Ghz quadcore 6 gig ram
HDX 1 via Omni
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Waves Broadcast/Production, C4 & NPP
Izotope RX, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-07-2009, 02:23 AM
max howarth max howarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: edinburgh, uk
Posts: 49
Default Re: Delivering Radio Spots

check with the station what their specs are. in the uk we use the bbc ppm meter where ppm4=0vu=-18db. peaks must not go over ppm6.

this is worth checking out:

http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/ppm.php
__________________
best wishes
max

www.redfacilities.com

2 x 3.3 6core mac pro | 12gb ram | mac os 10.7.3 | nu5.5 | rme multiset/audiolink96 | 3 x 19" flat panels | decklink xt | waves8 | altiverb7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2009, 08:48 AM
CLee CLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 404
Default Re: Delivering Radio Spots

I usually give it a LIGHT peak limiting with the output set to -3dbfs
__________________
Craig Lee@Cerny American
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-07-2009, 03:40 PM
Magnetic Magnetic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Columbus Ohio USA
Posts: 206
Default Re: Delivering Radio Spots

As for level, we usually deliver with peaks at -1. Just don't squash them too much so the station's multi-band limiter has something to grab onto. File format is pretty universal at 320kb mp3.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2009, 01:30 PM
Johnny2Laps Johnny2Laps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 139
Default Re: Delivering Radio Spots

Thanks for the input guys. Seems what I had in mind isn't too far off. The spots will air locally, not overseas.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radio spots in Dubai minister Post - Surround - Video 6 04-03-2009 06:08 AM
Pro Tools For Radio Production, Adobe Audition And Google Radio Automation... The Weed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-09-2008 07:51 PM
Radio Spots zombie69 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-23-2005 10:55 AM
Format for radio spots zombie69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-22-2005 08:27 AM
Mix and master radio spots bvleugels 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 05-23-2002 08:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com