Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:26 PM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know it doesn't work with PTLE, but anyone seen or worked on one of these PUPPYS ?
This is what the 002 should of had on it!!!
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:29 PM
antiphase antiphase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 544
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

yes, most of us are aware of this "better" interface.
__________________
www.soundgeekproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:55 PM
Homebelly Homebelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Posts: 687
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well thing is,,it will work with PTle,,except ya cant use the FW part,,all the reast is good to go,,it will suport both MAKIE CONTROLE and HUI templates,,comes standard with an ADAT and S/PIDIF IN/OUT,and,,from what i've been told,,good converters and Pre's,,i'm sitting back and waiting till i can try this out,,and i'm also a bit keen an the 01V/96,,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2003, 07:58 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
This is what the 002 should of had on it!!!
very true.
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2003, 09:03 PM
GZUZIZLORD GZUZIZLORD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: north side
Posts: 174
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

That thing lookz cool! It don't look like its gonna be that much either.
__________________
Miklo
1 G. Recordz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2003, 11:11 PM
kmshroom kmshroom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,791
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

you can expand the I/Os AND FADERS too.
__________________
you cannot find peace by avoiding life
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-01-2003, 11:33 PM
antiphase antiphase is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: California
Posts: 544
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

it goes for around 1300.00, good deal for what you get.......get logic 6 and you're still under the cost of a 002........OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO that hurts
__________________
www.soundgeekproductions.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-02-2003, 12:34 AM
GZUZIZLORD GZUZIZLORD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: north side
Posts: 174
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote:
it goes for around 1300.00, good deal for what you get.......get logic 6 and you're still under the cost of a 002........OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO that hurts

Thats a good idea, that or dp
__________________
Miklo
1 G. Recordz
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2003, 07:30 AM
GORILLA GORILLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Your Ma's house...hehehe
Posts: 1,812
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah...the word for today is EXPANDABILITY!!!!!! We get the 002 /002R, now don't get me wrong...I'm digging my 002. But, it aint expandable. Our expandability would be moving up to a TDM /HD/HD Accel system...Mo money, Mo money, Mo money...WTF!
Yeah grabbing this fella with Logic 6 would be like getting a 002/ a Digimax/ an extra midi interface 4x4/ a word clock(synch)/ a jog wheel-shuttle pro BUT, you'd have around $1500 to spend on other goodies, and you could expand it!!!
The only thing that FW-1884 is missing is an 96khz capable adat ins!

I wonder if the FW-1884s' second firewire port works?
__________________
METAL LABS
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2003, 08:31 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Whoa!!!!!!!!!!!!

It even has a REAL WHEEL (whereas the 002 just has something that looks round when viewed from above), and it has INSERTS, I like that even more than the expandability aspect.

I haven't heard any reports on the sound of the 1884, but it certainly has the features.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whoa!! Anyone seen this? L-Dogg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 21 06-17-2010 03:09 AM
Whoa barismanco123 General Discussion 1 01-25-2009 09:37 PM
Whoa........ I'm FraZzLeD GORILLA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 02-05-2008 08:16 AM
Whoa...! Can't pan. Help. silverlode 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-02-2002 12:38 AM
whoa coaster Tips & Tricks 0 12-26-1999 06:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com