Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2007, 04:29 PM
bilco bilco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 309
Default Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

I have a chance to pick up a Digi002 Rack locally for $600, maybe less, with PT LE 6.9 software. I already have 7.3 on my Mbox1, I just need more inputs to record our band.

It seems like the folks here who already had a Digi002 are hanging on to them, but I am thinking there are a few of you out there who traded into the Digi003 and have used both that could tell me whether it is worth saving up the difference to get the preamps and converters in the Digi003.

In the back of my mind I think I would always worry about the Power Harness issue...... What is the policy on getting one repaired on a used Digi002 Rack?

Thanks,
bilco
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2007, 05:43 PM
Wheeltard Wheeltard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Big Peach
Posts: 323
Default Re: Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

I'd jump on that offer if I were you... with the caveat that you definitely give that unit a good once-over. Maybe even a twice-over. If it's legit and everything is in fine working condition on the unit, get that sucka.

You spend another 475 clams on a Black Lion Audio Full Tweak Head modification and you're set. I have a 002 desk and I got the HD mod -- updated pres, clock, etc. I can hear a difference. Which is often described as more a "open" sound. I wouldn't say it's quite night and day, but it's definitely discernible. Gotta be the increased headroom and better specs on the pres.

Because I have an 002 and not an 002R, I can't get the Tweak Head. Which covers pres, clock and power stage. Folks who have gotten that mod swear by it. They all seem to have had a religious experience. The guys at BLA are absolutely top notch. And I'm very glad with my mod investment.

You can listen to my first BLA mod song at my Myspace account. Again, if that unit's in good shape. Jump on it. Power Harness be damned.
FWIW
Wheels
__________________
www.myspace.com/colmarkwheeler
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-10-2007, 10:33 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,601
Default Re: Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

I agree, that's half the cost of the 003r and you can do the BL upgrades or just add another high-quality pre thru either the lightpipe of SPDIF connections. I bought the tabletop 003 as it has a lot of extras, but the rack version lacks most of those new goodies, so the 002r is still a solid basis for running protools. Be forwarned about the "dreaded" power harness issue. It really is not that big of a deal (to me) but you should be aware that you may need to open the 002 from time to time and reseat the power harness connections. I did that to mine every 6 months and it worked every time.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2007, 08:05 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,769
Default Re: Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

Quote:
...Be forwarned about the "dreaded" power harness issue. It really is not that big of a deal (to me) but you should be aware that you may need to open the 002 from time to time and reseat the power harness connections. I did that to mine every 6 months and it worked every time.
Is there a way to permanently fix a bad power harness once and for all?
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2007, 09:12 AM
Wheeltard Wheeltard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: The Big Peach
Posts: 323
Default Re: Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

Not that I know of. A search here will yield a ton of hits on the history, cause and cure. From what I've read and heard the fix is a pretty easy one. However, I write that knocking on wood. So far, I haven't experienced the issue.

One thing I forgot to note in my BLA recommendation, and really was the main reason I got the mod, is the converter upgrade. That along with the pres were what delivered the improved sonics for me. Even without the BLA mod, that deal is too good to pass up. FWIW.
Wheels
__________________
www.myspace.com/colmarkwheeler
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2007, 12:57 PM
bilco bilco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 309
Default Re: Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

Well, the $600 one got away, but a GC in another town hooked me up with a floor demo Digi 002 Rack for $650, including the Ignition Pack and full warranty ...... and I still have the Digi 001 to hold onto or sell. The sales guy used to work at a store here, but moved away. I wish all of their sales staff were as competent and customer oriented as he is.....

I am slowly catching up with the current models. 2004 - Pro Tools Free on a Dell Latitude, 2005 - AMIII card off ebay, then the Digi 001 and 6.4 on a Sawtooth, 2006/2007 - up to 7.3 on an Mbox1 with a ibook G4, soon to be a Digi 002. Working my way up the food chain one rung at a time..... I am a Pro Tools fanatic!

FYI, out of curiousity, I rented a Firestudio for a week yesterday, struggled with it until 1:30 in the morning and returned it today for credit towards renting mics or something else. After the relatively seamless installation of the various versions of PT LE software and Digi hardware that I have had, I realized I have no patience to learn the ins and outs of another DAW and I really have no patience when it doesn't install the way the directions say it should. This was on a Mac too, on a PC I could understand.

If there was ever any doubt, it is a certainty now...... I have been assimilated!!

bilco
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-11-2007, 01:15 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Used Digi002 Rack for $600 or Save for New Digi003 Rack?

Quote:
If there was ever any doubt, it is a certainty now...... I have been assimilated!!

bilco
Welcome to the Borg collective

I would jump hard and fast on a 002 for 650.00 with a warentee.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Digi002 Rack Set Up RichardWard Eleven Rack 28 08-05-2013 09:44 PM
DIGI003 Rack word_play 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 09-17-2010 05:41 PM
Digi002 Rack vs. Digi003 Rack (mods?) digirock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 08-05-2009 11:31 AM
digi003+rack queemacarthur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-09-2008 06:40 AM
Digi003 Rack vs. Digi002 Rack 27West 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-22-2007 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com