Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Old 06-07-2007, 08:47 PM

Default Plug in selection

I'm new to the whole plug in scene and over the years have acquired a few of my favorite analog processors for my personal insert rack, namely my EL8 Distressors, BSS 901 II and a dbx 160SL.
I've been using one of the EL8 into the 901 on my center vocal guy who's "speaking/singing voice" is much louder than his "screaming voice" and going 6-10db into compression without noticeable squashing was almost a godsend with the EL8. His "screaming voice" resides in the 250hz-2k range so engaging the HP Detector was useless and adding 2nd or 3rd order harmonics was just too harsh so I knock 2k-(ish) down with the 901 and and a little bit in the 200hz range to get rid of some of the boomy-ness when he is speaking. The other EL8 I've been using on the Bass DI Dirty with the Detector in HP/Peak and Audio on Dist.2. with the "NUKE" ratio engaged to give it a really compressed 'grunt'.
dbx160SL:
I've never been a big fan of compressed guitars but figured I'd give it a shot. I put the 160 across two subgroups and shipped the guitars to that..just below 4:1 and hit it hard on the attack and a fast release time, I'd have the techs chunk on a muted low 'E' and shave off the top of that and hit it with some make-up gain. This seemed to keep them from stepping on the the Bass and would make the rhythm guitar stay in place when I would crank up a lead.
This is a metal band with lots 'o leads and lots of the "CHUNK-CHUNK-CHUNK" stuff.

Beside the obvious gates on the drums, what are some recommended plug ins based on my input list?
I'm really interested in what plug in(s) emulate or are close to a EL8.