Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-29-2012, 07:39 PM
Audio85 Audio85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, USA
Posts: 22
Question how do I reinstall PT8?

I'm going to give a quick story of what's happen to me. In June 2009 I bought a Mbox 2 w/ PT 7.4 and a free upgrade to PT 8. Now 2012, I just purchased a Digi 003 Rack+ connected via firewire 400. I was having a few issue with the 003 or the PT software, which one....I couldn't figure out. For example, when I would try to import audio, PT would "unexpectedly quit", when I would try to record audio, PT would "unexpectedly quit".

So I thought maybe my drivers were reading the 003, since I had the Mbox so long, PT only recognized the Mbox. So I stupidly UNINSTALLED PT8.

Well I reinstall it and now it still "unexpectedly quits" but my main concern is...how do I get my PT8 back? I still have the original email with the authorization codes and documentation when digidesign/avid sent me the info for the free upgrade.

Additionally, if I can get PT 8 back, how do I get PT to cooperate with the 003? Do I need the correct drivers to get PT to talk to the 003. I read that PT 8 comes with the drivers already for it to work with the 003?

Help me please!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-29-2012, 09:24 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,156
Default Re: how do I reinstall PT8?

Normally I would suggest you revert to a saved drive image, but I'm guessing you never did that(or you wouldn't be in the state you're in)... hint hint. A few things to try(but first, just HOW did you do the uninstall?); I'm not a Mac guy so some of this may not be correct for you. The PT8 installer disk has an UNinstaller utility that works fine on PC(so see if it works for Mac). There also was a large batch of bad installer disks, so you may want to download the 8 installer and try that. Also, be aware that the PT version must be appropriate to the OS version, so maybe review the compatibility grid by following the link near the top of this page. Good luck
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Reinstall Help adam79 macOS 4 03-26-2013 12:18 AM
Reinstall PT 10? cj4ebay macOS 1 12-24-2012 05:37 AM
Help! To Reinstall or Not??? imdade 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-07-2012 12:41 AM
Do i have to reinstall everything ? bonzerboy Pro Tools 10 15 10-22-2011 12:24 AM
Help with reinstall OSX an d 6.1 NannerPuddin' 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-01-2008 09:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com