Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2010, 09:03 AM
Audio85 Audio85 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rapids, USA
Posts: 22
Default Pro Tools PROBLEMS!!!! Notice Plural

I can not do anything with any plug-ins or adjust things without this popping up. What does this error message mean? And what can I do to fix it?

Could not complete your request because file not open (-38) while reading Protools-vdb.

I'm kinda getting scared that I don't have enough space/room on my computer to hold everything. I don't have a lot of PT files on my computer, but I'm just getting a strange feeling that I might screw myself over eventually when I'm recording numerous bands at one time or mixing a project while recording another.

If possible what are the correct steps to take in my computers capabilities to make sure I have everything I need to have enough storage, CPU usage, buffer size is good, just everything, you would need to correct or know in a typical recording studio session with the limited things that I have. I realize that with the limited things I have, I am "limited", but enough to not lose anything or disable my progress, etc. Basically, what is the correct PT set-up for an:

iMac version 10.5.8
Processor: 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (1 processor)
Memory: 4 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM (which i think is the highest i can go)
# of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4MB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz

Mbox 2
Pro Tools LE 8


I also realize that an external drive is going to help and believe me, I'm going to get one with at least a terabyte, but I need to get money first. PLEASE HELP, I HAVEN'T LOST ANYTHING YET!!! I JUST DON'T WANT TO.

Also, when I'm consolidating my tracks and I have some that have elastic audio on them and then delete the "unused regions" is that going to affect anything in the final mixing or some hidden audio within the PT session? Just wondering. Is there also a reason why PT is opening very slowly, to the point where I have to force quit because it's not responding when trying to load the mix window?

Thank you, I'm sorry for rambling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2010, 09:10 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Pro Tools PROBLEMS!!!! Notice Plural

Quote:
Originally Posted by Audio85 View Post
I can not do anything with any plug-ins or adjust things without this popping up. What does this error message mean? And what can I do to fix it?

Could not complete your request because file not open (-38) while reading Protools-vdb.

I'm kinda getting scared that I don't have enough space/room on my computer to hold everything. I don't have a lot of PT files on my computer, but I'm just getting a strange feeling that I might screw myself over eventually when I'm recording numerous bands at one time or mixing a project while recording another.

If possible what are the correct steps to take in my computers capabilities to make sure I have everything I need to have enough storage, CPU usage, buffer size is good, just everything, you would need to correct or know in a typical recording studio session with the limited things that I have. I realize that with the limited things I have, I am "limited", but enough to not lose anything or disable my progress, etc. Basically, what is the correct PT set-up for an:

iMac version 10.5.8
Processor: 2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (1 processor)
Memory: 4 GB 667 Mhz DDR2 SDRAM (which i think is the highest i can go)
# of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4MB
Bus Speed: 800 MHz

Mbox 2
Pro Tools LE 8


I also realize that an external drive is going to help and believe me, I'm going to get one with at least a terabyte, but I need to get money first. PLEASE HELP, I HAVEN'T LOST ANYTHING YET!!! I JUST DON'T WANT TO.

Also, when I'm consolidating my tracks and I have some that have elastic audio on them and then delete the "unused regions" is that going to affect anything in the final mixing or some hidden audio within the PT session? Just wondering. Is there also a reason why PT is opening very slowly, to the point where I have to force quit because it's not responding when trying to load the mix window?

Thank you, I'm sorry for rambling
You NEED an external drive to put your sessions on. It doesn't need to be a terabyte... you could buy a 250GB or a 500GB for around $50-60. As long as it is FireWire and has an Oxford chipset, it's fine. No need to overpay, but it is a system requirement for Pro Tools to run properly.

That being said... if you are running low on disk space... that is just asking for even more problems. Everything else about your system should be fine. Make sure you always have at least 20-30% hard disk space left, and don't try to squeeze every last GB out of it, because that lowers the life of your drive, and causes a lot of other issues.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:48 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Pro Tools PROBLEMS!!!! Notice Plural

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
You NEED an external drive to put your sessions on. It doesn't need to be a terabyte... you could buy a 250GB or a 500GB for around $50-60. As long as it is FireWire and has an Oxford chipset, it's fine. No need to overpay, but it is a system requirement for Pro Tools to run properly.
Yes. Gotta, Gotta get it!

If you have upgraded from an earlier version, check your plug-in compatibility.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2010, 07:10 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,149
Default Re: Pro Tools PROBLEMS!!!! Notice Plural

www.otherworldcomputing.com has the Mercury line of firewire drives and those are a great deal(and work with PT). You should always have at least 15% of free space on all hard drives. If you don't have that much, you should move.archive whatever you can to free up space. Commiting Elastic Audio tracks(to turn EA off) will help with system resources.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone notice? Demigrind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-05-2006 11:42 AM
Anyone Notice.... JCBigler 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-02-2004 11:54 AM
Anybody ever notice? Michael Cottrell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-30-2004 01:29 PM
Pro Tools Crashes without notice.. trelobas Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2003 06:06 AM
PT6.1 weird problems-Did you notice them? ricren Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-08-2003 05:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com