Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2014, 02:30 PM
Kam Lion Kam Lion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: BRONX NY USA
Posts: 54
Default No Access to MIDI Patch Names File in PT 11.1 -12.0

Pro Tools HD 11.1 cannot access the MIDI Patch Names thru the Patch Selector.

Here is the message I get:

"MIDIServer patch file, bank, or mode information not available for this MIDI instrument."
However, when I manually navigate from Boot Volume Mac Hard Drive->Library->Audio->MIDI Patch Names->Avid all my MIDI Device Patch Names are there.

I get to this MIDI Patch Names without any problem whatsoever in Pro Tools HD 10 series.
I want to be able to select my MIDI patch Names within Pro Tools HD 110.1 than using numbers which mean nothing.

Please, Avid pay attention to this annoying glitch.

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/164279-3779
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2014, 04:13 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: No Access to MIDI Patch Names File in PT HD 11.1

Try deleting and recreating a device in AMS, then reelect the patch bank. It's worked for me in the past when I've had patch problems.
__________________
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2014, 04:36 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,264
Default Re: No Access to MIDI Patch Names File in PT HD 11.1

Thanks a lot for that! Good advice -^-^-^- and that is what we did to fix our issue on Macbook Pro so try this and post back with your experience.

Best Of Luck
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2014, 05:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,034
Default Re: No Access to MIDI Patch Names File in PT HD 11.1

Do you have midnam files for what you want?
Maybe PT11 doesn't support midnam files anymore?

BTW - there's no need to have multiple threads with the same subject - once is enough thank you. You have one already over in the PT11 forum.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2014, 11:49 AM
Kam Lion Kam Lion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: BRONX NY USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: No Access to MIDI Patch Names File in PT HD 11.1

No access at all.

No matter how many times I did rebuilt the AMS.
It's a glitch that Avid must fix in short period of time. A lot of people rely on their MIDI Hardware like myself. Pro Tools HD 11 isn't cheap at $600.00 for the upgrade.

Avid, this is yours task.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2014, 02:34 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,247
Default External MIDI gear patch lists working on Mac? MIDI Patch Names

Does anyone have patch lists working for external MIDI gear in any version of PT 11.x on Mavericks? I get the error 'MIDIServer patch, file bank or mode information not available . . .', but all the files are there and the MIDI studio is configured correctly in AMS. Don't know if it's PT, the OS or the combination, but I cannot attach patch lists to MIDI devices. DP on the other hand is working correctly with patch lists for all the outboard gear, though I'd prefer to use PT for a new project.
__________________
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-16-2014, 05:08 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: External MIDI gear patch lists working on Mac?

Bump - one more try. Patch lists et al also work properly in the Windows version of PT 11.x (overall there seem to be less PT 11 Win issues), so Mac only problem for me. No one to confirm or deny this issue so I have a better feel of where the fault lies?
__________________
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2014, 09:47 AM
renehubard renehubard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: External MIDI gear patch lists working on Mac?

Having the same problem. Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2014, 08:31 AM
j32smith j32smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: External MIDI gear patch lists working on Mac?

You have to make sure that the Midi instrument assigned in OSX audiomidi setup has the same exact name of the midi patch in pro tools. They can't even be one space or one letter off or it will not work.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2014, 08:43 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,247
Default Re: External MIDI gear patch lists working on Mac?

Quote:
Originally Posted by j32smith View Post
You have to make sure that the Midi instrument assigned in OSX audiomidi setup has the same exact name of the midi patch in pro tools. They can't even be one space or one letter off or it will not work.
So you are on a Mac with PT11 and you have patch lists working? If so, what version of the OS?
__________________
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2020.12 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access VirusB patch names..... dubhausdisco1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-27-2006 08:12 PM
MIDI Patch Names bigbrendan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-04-2005 02:27 PM
MIDI Patch Names & PT6.4.1 Mix Mount Royal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-15-2004 06:25 PM
Midi Patch Names in PT6 & OSX (How)?? Earthling 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-03-2003 12:03 PM
PT5 & OMS Names Manager (MIDI patch names) Baron Von Deca Tips & Tricks 0 02-17-2000 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com