Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2010, 07:44 AM
Limelight Limelight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 148
Default Couple of additional SC48 Questions!

1) Sheldon, or anyone with advice, is there any specific firewire card for my laptop I should get to interface my SC48 with PT LE?

2) When purchasing plug-ins, if there is not a specific venue installer, which type of plug-in should I buy (TD HD Accell, TDM HD, RTAS, Audio Suite)?

3) Those using Antares Auto Tune Evo, which version did you buy and does it work well on Venue (Evo or EFX, Native or TDM+Native)?

That's it for now, thanks!!

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-24-2010, 11:03 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: Couple of additional SC48 Questions!

Chris,

I don't have an answer to all of your questions...BUT the ones I do have:

Any firewire 400 or 800 interface will work. Be aware, the VENUE's have a firewire 400 connection. If your computer only has a 800 style port, you will have to get a little F/W 400 to 800 adapter in order for it to work.

I've only gotten VENUE certified TDM plugins for VENUE; A) I am not sure if "non-certified" ones will work and B) I know how computers are, if you run something that is not compatible or "approved", sometimes they can cause it to crash. I do not want that happening mid-show, even though I was able to jerry-rig a kick-ass compressor on my kick drum. Just not worth it, IMHO.

AutoTune...I will be getting it in a few weeks. I will throw up a post...or respond to this thread (if I remember). The version I am getting is Antares Auto-Tune Evo TDM. Let me just say...I've asked the same question you did about how it works, and I have not gotten a response. I've researched...and so did my sales guy at Atlanta Pro Audio, and we came to the conclusion it does work (confirmed through AVID's site)...but you have to do a manual install. I'm pretty excited about it. A couple of things I've decided to do is A) use it hand-in-hand with Snapshots, since songs vary with which "key" they are in B) Double patch instrumentation or vocals channels you are using them on, if you are using in-ears or monitors. You may also want to copy the compression and EQ for those two channels. Unfortunately, VENUE currently does not allow a pre-effect option for monitoring. Hopefully soon it will. I think that would be a great option. It may freak some musicians out, and they will end up fighting what they "think" they are singing and are hearing. It is always best (in my experience) to let them have their native voice as possible. I will keep you up to date on my experiences with Auto-Tune.
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Been away for a while, couple of questions secondtyme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 10-19-2012 07:29 PM
Couple Of Questions Blank Frank Pro Tools 9 2 11-10-2010 03:27 PM
2 SC48 Questions Limelight VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 09-09-2010 07:15 PM
Couple questions. Don Geppert ICON & C|24 5 10-05-2006 03:11 PM
SATA Additional questions neomodo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 03-16-2005 12:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com