Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2020, 05:59 PM
npapaleo npapaleo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Irivine
Posts: 8
Default 60fps playback issue

I recently started working with 60fps video, and I'm finding that no matter the codec, pro tools will not play the video back correctly. The first 3 to 4 seconds plays back as black, followed by what should've been the first frame, shifting the whole video off 3 to 4 seconds. The monitor and video output card do not seem to matter. I've recreated the issue playing back on my main (HP z27) monitor and also when sending it through an AJA i/o xt.

I've tried DNxHD, DNxHR (mxf), ProRes 422, and H.264. What's weird is if I import the same video into Video Slave and lock it to pro tools it plays back correctly. I'd rather not have to purchase Video Slave to perform a function that Avid says works natively.

Mac Pro Late 2013
3 GHz 8-Core Intel Xeon E5
64 GB 1866 MHz DDR3
MAC OS 10.14.6
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2020, 09:35 PM
npapaleo npapaleo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Irivine
Posts: 8
Default Re: 60fps playback issue

I believe I solved it by converting 1280x720 to 1920x1080. Seems this bug only concerns 720.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2020, 10:44 PM
MLaudio MLaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Seattle
Posts: 31
Default Re: 60fps playback issue

ive been having the exact same issue with 720.. going to try your fix now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2020, 10:15 AM
MLaudio MLaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Seattle
Posts: 31
Default Re: 60fps playback issue

you are correct, 1080 now works fine for me.. heck i went to 719 from 720 and that worked fine as well.. So its definitely a bug with "720"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
29.97 fps to 60fps - Sync Help? marimbagirl Post - Surround - Video 6 11-30-2016 12:14 AM
Playback Engine Issue (Won’t load session with chosen playback engine) MattyJones Pro Tools 11 0 11-02-2015 11:52 AM
Changing session from 23.976 to 60fps? raff221 Post - Surround - Video 3 11-15-2013 01:48 PM
PT 10 playback issue Mac OS X JRodriguez2109 macOS 6 03-13-2012 11:31 PM
playback issue beatbass 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-12-2009 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com