Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-01-2015, 12:48 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default New Interface

Im looking for some input for a new interface. We have a system that was updated to PT 12.1 and yosemite - from PT9 and a 002r on a Mac Pro 2009.

Obviously the 002r wont work any more. The system is used for song writing and composing. There are mono or stereo tracks recorded. Vocals, etc. So latency is an issue but not a huge one. They used the 002r after all.

One challenge is: We like to be able to use the interface on a 2013 laptop as well as the Mac Pro.

Other qualifiers are that it needs to have:

SPDF
Midi
at least 2-4 inputs.
Monitor Section

Id love to be able to use the Focusrite Clarett 8Pre. It fits the bill perfectly but its only Thunderbolt compatible.

Maybe the Saffire pro? or others?

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:00 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: New Interface

Is the Mac Pro not the new cylinder model?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:07 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: New Interface

No Its a 2009 Model So its just USB 2 and Firewire 400/800. USB 3 could be added but Thunderbolt cannot. I did a lot of research on that last night just to see if it was possible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:12 PM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: New Interface

The Saffire pro should work swimmingly for you. Great interface, no complaints here.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-01-2015, 02:20 PM
Jeff E Jeff E is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Aptos California
Posts: 177
Default Re: New Interface

THe Universal Audio Apollo Firewire fits the bill. Add a thunderbolt card and its golden..
The Focusrite Saffire Pro as well.. thanks Dr Daw
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-01-2015, 05:43 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,751
Default Re: New Interface

BTW, just because the 002r is no longer supported, doesn't mean it won't work. Try the 003rack driver and see what happens
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-01-2015, 11:51 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: New Interface

I'll toss RME onto the list as an option but I'd probably get the UA myself
do try the 003r driver to carry you until you pic a new interface
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-02-2015, 03:16 AM
ptdude ptdude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Indy
Posts: 41
Default Re: New Interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
BTW, just because the 002r is no longer supported, doesn't mean it won't work. Try the 003rack driver and see what happens
It sure works with my 003r.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-02-2015, 06:29 AM
dr_daw's Avatar
dr_daw dr_daw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cariboo, BC
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: New Interface

Yeah, if I knew you were thinking of a UA I would also go that route if the budget is there.
__________________
FBR recording - https://www.facebook.com/fromthebase...cordsrecording
@FBRrecording - Instagram
Rig
MBP 15" High Sierra 10.13.3, i7 2.6Ghz, 8Gb DDR, 750Gb 7200rpm, PT 2019.5, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, Octopre MkII, Glyph GPT50, Avalon 737sp, AMS Neve 1073's, API 512c, CAPI 312's, DW drums, Fender Guitars/Amps, AKG, Rode, Sennheiser, Neumann U87 & KM184's, Coles 4038, Equator D5 monitors
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-02-2015, 09:00 AM
jesele jesele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 200
Default Re: New Interface

Still expensive but good deals on my favorite, Metric Halo now. Have the ULN8 and it's amazing.

Jesper
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16-core, 96 GB, OS X.15.4, HDX 1, HD i/o 8x8x8 + HD i/o 16 digital + Metric Halo ULN 8 3D + RME Fireface 800
http://vicc.se/studio-alpha/
http://jesperelen.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alessis Multimix8usbfx interface and Mbox 2 interface with Protools 11 Majorpain7 Pro Tools 11 0 01-06-2014 07:40 PM
1 interface, 1 hard drive, only ONE firewire interface? beyoutofull1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 11-22-2010 04:08 PM
Okay we got the all digital interface - what about an all analog interface? uno1234 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-24-2002 12:50 AM
is there a digital only i/o interface compatable with digi interface connections? Felix Tips & Tricks 2 10-22-2001 10:50 PM
SDII/Digital Interface/Analog Interface Question Karmitz Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-15-2000 12:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com